Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cheetah X15 Revision #'s

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    hi all

    I bought a pair of X15's a while ago (November) and a pair last weekend. All from the Gurus and I ended up with 3 that are rev 0004 and 1 that is rev 0003. I am not uptight about this even though they are all in a 4 drive Burly array, I just want to know if there is a difference I should be aware of?

    Thanks
    Damien

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Damien,

    I have eight G2 X15s in a Burly, six are 0004 and two are 0003. Both versions have exactly the same factory Mode Page Parameter settings. I tested each version as a single drive and the 0004 is just slightly faster in sustained write, small increase but consistent. Both versions work well together, no hiccups, no problems. The SW, YMMV. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Thanks Kaye

    You know in the Apple forums I am very active and my Mac is at the top of the food chain over there but then I come over here and I am back down in the middle somewhere

    (8 X15's ....SHEESH!)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    The food chain changes constantly as you know. New Apple G4s, ATTO working on a dual channel U320 card, Seagate and Maxtor working on faster drives.

    I'm having to kludge this 8-bay Burly. It was designed for at most 3 channels and I need 4. It has plenty of ID connectors but the LEDs, there are eight but one is for Power. So I have an extra LED connector that magician sent me but I need to drill another hole in the front panel for another drive LED. k

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    I got one of the 0001 X15's and was ready to return it due to the noise. My latest is 0004 and does not have the same characteristics. Didn't follow my own advice to skip 'version 1' stuff. I wonder if there is enough diff between 0001 and 0004 that it could have been leading to problems and failures (timing?) using Apple and also ExpressStripe raid0 under OS X?

    Gregory

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Isn't 0001 X15 a generation one X15 with 4MB cache onboard? I received two of the very first G2 X15s and they were not 0001. They were 0002 or 0003. k

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Kaye, Oops! my mistake just checked and it is rev. 0002 from 9/2001 when the 2G was first available.

    Gregory

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •