Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: My Burly Raid

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    I got my Burly put together. She's humming kinda softly by my left ear. It was an adventure, but one that I enjoyed.

    Thanks for the help on ordering and the Roll Your Own Raid tutorial was most excellent. Couldn't have done it without that.

    Richard

    Beige w/XLR8 G4 500 (Overclocked bus 83.3 x 6.5 = 541 MHz)
    512 MB RAM
    4 18 GB Quantum Atlas 10K II in a Burly (wish they were Cheetahs)
    All Granite Digital cabling
    Miles2, Ratoc FW/USB, ATI Xclaim VR 128

    QuickBench---> 10 MBytes 70.487 Read 59.002 Write
    Atto ExpressPro-Tools---> PR 75.03 SR 74.73 PW 62.84 SW 61.95
    I'm very happy!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Richard,

    Congratulations for completing a somewhat daunting but as you say enjoyable adventure in ordering and assembly and excellent results.

    I'm interested, have some questions:
    1.Which Burly, 4-bay?
    2.Did you purchase and connect the Burly with selectable IDs on the rear?
    3.Which power supply?
    4.Did you connect the drive activity LEDs?
    5.SoftRAID? HFS+? OS?
    6.Ratoc card, what is your experience with that? Any issues? What do you have connected to it, both FW and USB?

    Obviously the Beige works well with the Miles2. I was wondering about that. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Thanks Kaye. Here are the answers to your questions.

    1.Which Burly, 4-bay?
    MAP5043 4-Bay 5.25-in SCSI Encl w/ 15-ID Switches w/ Ultimate Hard Drive Coolers.
    2.Did you purchase and connect the Burly with selectable IDs on the rear?
    I did not connect the IDs.
    3.Which power supply?
    300 W
    4.Did you connect the drive activity LEDs?
    Yes, I had to put a drop of super glue on the led area to keep it in the slot. They are working fine.
    5.SoftRAID? HFS+? OS?
    SoftRAID 2.2.2 Striped under OS 8.6. I have a volume with 9.1, but I haven't made the transition yet.
    6.Ratoc card, what is your experience with that? Any issues? What do you have connected to it, both FW and USB?
    No problems so far. I have an EZQuest EZQ CDRW 24x10x40 Ext FireWire. I will be testing a FORMAC Studio firewire later today. I have an Epson Perfection 1640SU that stays connected via USB with no problems. I am going to get a Keyspan USB Serial adapter for my Epson Photo EX hoping to speed up printing a bit. I'm hoping that works out OK.

    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Richard,

    Thanks for the info. Yes, those ID selectors are a job to wire but work as advertised. More hot glue tho. I was curious about the Ratoc because I have recommended it without actually have one. My PTP has the xlr8 FW and USB separate cards. k

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN, USA
    Posts
    63

    Default

    k,
    I have the ratoc card in a 9600 with 500M XLR8 G3 for several months. Both USB and Firewire work fine. I am using the firewire with a JVC Mini DV Tapedeck and Final Cut Pro 1.2.

    The only thing I remember was that the software install was a little tricky, but the instructions were good.

    ... taffy.c

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Thanks for the testamonial. Another satisfied customer. Will continue to recommend the Ratoc. k

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Another thumbs up for RATOC. The Formac Studio is working fine via firewire. The Studio is a pretty cool toy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Walnut Creek,Ca.US
    Posts
    172

    Default

    You are booting from the raid 0 array? Cool, isn't it??

    gs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Yes it is! Unfortunately, this small taste of speed has now got me wanting a G$, oops I mean G4 I used to look at porn, now it's a dual 800. Just kidding. The dual 800 could never replace the porn. Just kidding. I hope my wife doesn't read this. I am just kidding. I really don't want to be booted from the forums. Anyway, I was just thinking since I had the burly built all I would have to do is get the G4, the Atto card and a new external GD cable and I'm ready. Any comments on what kind of speed increase I would see by replacing the Beige with the QS?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY, USA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Oh, and I want to say thank you to the Gurus and Deb for all the help. You guys allowed me return an internal 4 drive GD cable some time ago, back in May I think, and I was worried about being branded as one of those who tests out hardware, but that experience helped me make the decision on the external burly.

    Thanks again,

    Richard

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    January isn't that far away. Wait. ATTO will improve on the ATTO. Apple will improve on the QS. You can spend 3 months lusting after QS/G5.

    Gregory

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    well, one factor to consider between the bG3 and the G4 Sawtooth is that the PCI controllers are very different. While the Gossamer's Grackle is an advance over the older Bandits used in vintage Power Macs, the UNI-N used in the newer Sawtooth is truly a leap forward.

    there are benchmarks posted on the ftp site, so you can see exactly what drives and cards in which machines delivered specific performance, but generally you will see 100MB/sec sustained reads and writes w as few as three X15's in a Sawtooth w Granite cabling and termination on a UL3D or UL3S. Four X15's will get you there for sure, and more. The fastest performance i have personally documented is close to 200MB/sec using eight X15's. I feel very safe in conservatively stating that anyone can attain 180MB/sec sustained reads, and 160MB/sec sustained writes, with minimal tweaking. If you have expertise and time and the correct software tools, you can get very close to the promised land of 200MB/sec.

    i have not yet confirmed what true Ultra320 X15's will do on a UL3D bus duplexed.

    yet.




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •