Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Firewire RAID???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Walnut Creek,Ca.US
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Hi Magician

    I was wondering if you had used any GD stuff to setup a firewire raid?

    Wonder how this would work for stuff like Final Cut Pro, where you need large storage capacity?
    How do the low block transfer rates compare with scsi and ide(since you use ide drives, I imagine the rates are similar)

    The hotswap adapters Granite has put out look pretty cool. A mini-backplane..


    gs

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    17

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Lawrence, KS, US
    Posts
    1,370

    Default

    Damn, I'd love to know the answer to this one too.....

    That looks pretty cool.....

    c8

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    not quite yet ready for prime-time, but getting there. Considering that it took this long for FW to finally get usable, I am optimistic that we will be able to get behind a solution shortly, and open yet another new section of the site: The FireWire Pages of Pain.

    I kid you not.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Lawrence, KS, US
    Posts
    1,370

    Default

    Hubba hubba

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New Orleans, La
    Posts
    9

    Default

    What would the benefits be to have a firewire RAID instead of a SCSI one? I am new to the idea but need to have a faster access to my Photoshop files and I do not want to see that progress bar any more. Is it worth putting the SCSI card in the G4. I have a G4 533 DP. Please advise, thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Walnut Creek,Ca.US
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Firewire is hotswapable. And, it uses cheap ide drives, great if you are intrested in storing lots of stuff, like music or video.

    It's just an alternative to ide, far better then ide raid solutions, not in the ball park if you are used to scsi.

    Plus, it used to crawl. UW specs are pretty quick, more then ide is usually capable of, and, perhaps, the interface is superior to ide???

    gs

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    the only benefit to FireWire RAID is hot-swap, and ease of use.

    it is not fast--and at this point, only CharisMac RAID, FWB HDT, and possibly HDST (w two drives only?) supports it. It is not yet supported by SoftRAID (unless you buy VST FireRAID).

    i do not consider FireWire RAID viable from the software standpoint at this time. Hardware is very nearly there. Software is lagging at this time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    I have a question.... although expensive, you can purchase these IDE -> SCSI hardware raid set ups (or SCSI-SCSI) set ups from RAIDWEB. These set up as LVD systems to your own machine and allow you to set up various raid configurations (0 - 1, 5 ) etc...You can either use IDE or SCSI (depending on the configuration) drives

    (http://www.raidweb.com)

    Has anyone tried these out on a Mac? I have colleagues who have several of these units but they are hooked up to Linux boxes.

    We need some serious expandable network accessible storage now - we just installed a new microscope where each single image file can range from 50 - 100 MB and I could see people racking up 10 - 100's of images in a given day...

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •