Thread: Disk Image and other copy tricks

Hi all,
    I was just scanning some of the older posts in hopes of not repeating a thread but I think this is new stuff. It certainly is for me anyway. I am very new to recording. And I am still a little behind with some Mac lingo (because I held on to my 575 untill a year ago January - wasn't even in the post 7.5 PPC world until then)

I just installed a brand new Sony IDE CDRW (internal) in my 7600. I also put in a SIIG ATA 133/100 PCI IDE card and a new Maxtor 60 Gig HD. I also picked up Toast from Amazon but they have free shipping deal that has fine print that it won't ship for 2 weeks. AAARRRGH!

So I am trying to do what I can until my Toast arrives. Question. MY friend, who is knowledgable about PC's but who also has a 7300, suggests that is is pretty easy to open a commercial music cd and to copy the tracks onto my HD. But I can't make this work. Do I need special software to do this? And what exactly is disk image and how might it be a necessary step in what I am trying to do? I remember that using disk image might be useful but I really don't remember why or how yet?

Copying it to my disk by dragging it gave me only the images of files that opened an old copy of a shareware mpeg player, which couldn't do anything with them either. At the very least I would like to test the alleged stutter problem with my new SIIG card. The Sony has a small problem with the audio plug socket. It is not the same as the female cable end that is on my MOBO and which attached to the OEM Apple CD reader. All I need to do is shave some plastic so it's no big deal. But before doing that I wanted to use the burner as a CD drive and to copy a CD or just some tracks to my disk, and to play em back.