Thread: G4-733 needs a fan?

I have Digital Audio G4-533. I have an opportunity to put a 733 processor (for a Digital Audio) in it. Someone told me that I need a special heat-sink and a processor fan for this. It this true?

If I have to have one of these, where can I get one. I really want to speed up my DA machine (without overclocking) and an Apple upgrade seems the safest. Hope someone can throw me a bone here. I'm pretty new to upgrading Macs.

Thanks!

Hey Rog,

?I think you're safe with the same monster heatsink that came on the DA. Apple didn't do anything special between the 533, 667 and 733 processors, they all had the same sink. No fan attached on any of them.

?If you have any doubts though about cooling you should be able to find a free utility that will monitor cpu temp, one of the smart folks around here can probably tell you which and where. Adding a fan for cpu cooling would not be hard, (actually a fan that blows across the heatsink is all you could get since it really covers the cpu) most computer parts shops for PCs would have many types that could be added. But I think the power supply fan moves plenty of air across the heatsink and you shouldn't have to worry about it.

Rick

Thanks ricks.

How sure are you of that? The guy that told me that seems awfully sure of himself (says they are an Apple dealer/service center).

He says he is 100% sure that all Macs at 733 or higher have CPU cooling fans and a different heat sink including the Digi-Audio 733's. I don't want to call either of you a liar. I'm just getting conflicting info, here and don't know what to do. I'm rather a newbie at playing with Mac hardware like the
    processor. Video cards, ram or even hard drive I've done -- I've not done
    this before except on my PM9500.

Thanks again,
    Bruce

Well Bruce,