Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Weird problem with quicksilver case

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Yonkers, NY USA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Weird problem with quicksilver case

    This is a long description of the problem. Turn the computer on and it will work for a minute then power down. Pull the power cord and open the case and plug the cord back in. Hit the power button and it will work fine as long as the case stays open. After you close the case will power down after a minute. I noticed that the little red light on the motherboard flashes until I pull the power cord and let it sit for a minute. I have to keep the case open at least an inch for it to work but once I latch it closed it will shut down after a minute.

    I checked the fans are they car working. The inside of the case does not get too hot either.

    Does anyone know if there is a sensor that could cause this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Now this is a weird one.

    Post any hardware you have added that is not stock? Any chance of a cable touching a PCI card or other componet? Double check any wires or cables that might be getting moved in that last inch of movement when closing your door. They might not be getting pinched but moved just enough to screw something up?

    Try putting a indoor/outdoor thermometer in there and see how warm it is getting. There are no utilities to check the QS's CPU temp. (I have a QS 733) There is something with it's chip that won't allow it to utilize a temp monitoring app.

    Long shot... Try pulling all your RAM, and cards clean it out really good check the slots for dust bunnies. Reseat everything really good.

    Post further questions/observations and your success when you find it - this is new. Post it at Apple discussions if you have not already.

    Randy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Holding the power button for 5-6 seconds will shut it down rather than pulling the power cord.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Yonkers, NY USA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by rwm:
    Now this is a weird one.

    Post any hardware you have added that is not stock? Any chance of a cable touching a PCI card or other componet? Double check any wires or cables that might be getting moved in that last inch of movement when closing your door. They might not be getting pinched but moved just enough to screw something up?

    Try putting a indoor/outdoor thermometer in there and see how warm it is getting. There are no utilities to check the QS's CPU temp. (I have a QS 733) There is something with it's chip that won't allow it to utilize a temp monitoring app.

    Long shot... Try pulling all your RAM, and cards clean it out really good check the slots for dust bunnies. Reseat everything really good.

    Randy<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    I had tried everthing but the thermometer. I was just wondering if there was some kind of connection between the motherboard and case through some kind of sensor tha I can disable.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    ?The only thing I can think of is a connection on the power supply cable to the motherboard. Try pulling, inspecting and resetting that cable and see if that gets it.

    ?Have you done OF resets and a PMU reset? Worth a try and no risk.

    Rick

    Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Just in case...

    Open Firmware reset -

    Hold the Command+Option+O+F keys during startup. This will put you in the Open Firmware Interface. At the end of any text you will get a '&gt;' prompt. At that prompt type:

    reset-nvram -Hit Return
    set-defaults -Hit Return
    reset-all -Hit Return

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Yonkers, NY USA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    After a week, I have tried everything.

    I do think its a grounding problem. I am able to recreate the problem with the case open now. I just have to hold something made of metal near, but not touching the screw that holds the motherboard by the sound conections. I am thinking I may have to change the power supply because I think that is what grounds the computer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Yonkers, NY USA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    FYI

    I fixed it. It turned out to be a the power supply. I installed a new one and it works fine now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,010

    Default

    Awesome dude! Nice troubleshooting.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Good Job.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •