Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 43

Thread: Mac wont boot. No chime nothing. HELP (voodoo reset)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    212

    Exclamation

    Randy, Ur problem -I hate to let U know- stems most likely from a bad mobo or CPU. When I had similar trouble, it was the mobo... My recent (above) issue was quite different, since nothing happend inside the unit trying to power it up. Only the pwr btn lit up, but nothing else...

    Good news, bad news... I just got off the phone with my Apple Care 'Helper'. As I've mentioned here or in another thread, I am supposed to get a G5 as a replacement for my troubled DP MDD... The one that just had its mobo replaced and gave me no more than 'bout 8 hours of crash-free usage... Now that 'guy' knows a few things, wow..! He explained to me why AHT could not/would not recognize the original issue which was a bad Ram slot, the J20... The G4 would crash only after a few hours of seemingly flawless performance, because by then it would be hot enough to bend some weak metal in the Ram slot. A copper heat sink would only have delayed the agony...Therefore the actual Ram stick could not've been at fault. And with AHT employed, even all night, the unit would never get hot enough for the trouble to occur. Now, even though the MDD in question would be good for 1 more repair under AC, he decided to retire it because apparently Apple just doesn't seem to have anymore mobo's in perfect condition that would make an other replacement a sound choice.

    Regarding the recent QS failure at start-up, he actually took the time to give me a hint as to the most likely causes... Yes, static a possibility. We hardly had any humdidity here on that day. Ideal, according to him, would be around 96%... More likely though, he suggested (in line with Dr. TZ..!) it would have been some sort of power issue. Even a surge while the computer was turned off. Mine occasionally forgetting to quit the Shp before shutdown can be excluded as a reason. Because the OS does it for me before signing out... I know, that's a lot off 'stuff', all in one posting.

    Let's hope someone gets something out of it!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    21

    Default

    I love this site! Where else can you find this info??

    I have a 533 mhz DP DA G4, that I bought new in 2001 and it has worked flawlessly ever since..... until recently. I had left it alone, shut down, for a few months (been doing my work on a PB G4). I went to start it up and sure enough, the power button lights up while you're pushing it, then you let go and nothing. No fan, no HD sounds, no chime, no nothing. I replaced the machine with a new Mac Pro for work, but I wanted to have it repaired in order to retrieve files etc. I was all set to take it in for repairs (I was thinking power supply since there was absolutely no sign of internal activity at all) when I came across this thread.

    The things you learn on the internet. I'll be giving the 'voodoo' a try....

    Rick

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Try a new battery first.

    I did end up having to get the mobo fixed. A friend was helping me put RAM in and some how he got one stick in backwards or part way and it blew the mobo.

    If it is a fried mobo try seeing what these guys can do. They fixed me up just great. http://www.galaxyhp.com/

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrische View Post
    ....but I wanted to have it repaired in order to retrieve files etc....
    Just so you are aware, you can retrieve data yourself without taking it to a shop. Even if you have a bad logic board or power supply, the drive should be accesssable in another Mac, or in a FireWire or USB enclosure. If you want assistance, to walk through this, how about starting a new thread?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default Same problem... a few questions.

    When I push the power button on my G4 MDD (867) the power button lights up for a split second and then nothing.

    The fan on the processor briefly spins but that's it.

    Push the power button again and not even a brief light/spin. I have to unplug the machine and plug it back in -- then I get the power button lights up for a split second and nothing again.

    I followed the VooDoo advice above.

    unplugged the box.
    removed the ram
    removed the battery.

    plugged it in. pushed the power button. Same behavior. Lights up briefly and then nothing.

    Next I did the above and pushed the PMU and power button at the same time. Power button stays lit but nothing happens.

    I do have a question. There's mention of resetting/pushign the cuda button above. I can't find one. Is it the same as the PMU button?

    thanks for any advice.

    I called a friend and he immediatly told me it's a bad power supply but for some reason I remembered this thread from a few years ago and decided to check here first.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,315

    Default

    I would bet it's the PSU.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Brane View Post
    I would bet it's the PSU.
    What's the best way to eliminate/test the PSU?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,315

    Default

    You can test a PSU, but it's a hell of a lot easier to just swap in a known good replacement.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Brane View Post
    You can test a PSU, but it's a hell of a lot easier to just swap in a known good replacement.
    I hear ya. Unfortunately I don't have access to a know good replacement without purchasing one.

    Guess I'll poke around and see what I can figure out.

    Thanks.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,315

    Default

    Checking voltages will tell you if it's functional, but to really test it you need to test it under load. This can be quite the challenge if you're not well-versed in electronics, and don't have the proper equipment which would likely cost more than the PSU itself.

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Had it checked today by a friend. Power supply is dead.

    Didn't fancy spending 150 bucks for a replacement so I went ahead and ordered a new mac. Should be here Monday.

    I'll miss the old girl. She served me well for 7 years. The Dual 1.42 gigabump extended it's usefulness for me by a few years.

    Trying to decide if I should sell it on ebay as is or part it out.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,315

    Default

    You can likely get much more out of it by selling the pieces, but you have to factor in your time.

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default I'm back...

    Well i found a powersupply for 75 bucks and jumped on it. Tosed it in the box and it powered up. Ran it about ten days and everything worked normally.

    Problem is in the interim I bought a new 2009 Mac Mini (had to get work done) and I've fallen in love with it. It's faster than my old MDD and silent. Who knew. But there was no going back.

    So I put the MDD G4 up for sale and sold for what I was asking (enough to cover the mac mini and the power supply replacment).

    So all ends well.

    Well... almost.

    The buyer contacted me last night and said he received the computer and it won't start up.

    Nice guy. We're tryign to sort it out before he sends it back. But basically it's exhibiting the same behavior before I repalced the PSU.

    Power light comes on briefly when you push and then nothing.

    He's ordered a Pram battery for it (i'm pretty sure the old one is the original battery and I reset the PMU several dozen times when the PSU when trying to determine what was wrong. So there's a good chance it's dead or almost dead. He's ordered a new battery so we'll see how that goes. Fingers are crossed -- but I'm a bit worried the same symptoms are happening.

    Reason Im posting. He tested the PSU with a volt meter and says everything seems to be checking out except nothing on the 12 volt pin.

    Is this indicative of a dead PSU or is that pin computer controlled (i.e. does the computer have to power up first before you get power on that pin?)

    Just curious.
    Last edited by Jollybgood; 05-30-2009 at 05:05 AM.

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Confused G4 mdd "no chime, screen black"

    I've done the Voodoo fix 7 times, no change, "NO CHIME, SCREEN BLACK". Original problem, when monitor worked and there was a startup chime, but the firewire connection was working intermittently, then not at all, to now. I have also tried zap PRAM on startup, no change. Now when I push start button it lights, withdraw finger, light at button goes off. At start up computer powers on, all fans running, red light at mother board on. I'ver replaced the power supply, mother board, Dual 867MHz CPU, exchanged RAM, and put in (2) new internal Hard Drives. In case the CPU was corrupted, I've ordered one more, to try this again. Any suggestions would be helpful.

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Welcome to the Guru's Forums

    Since you have tried the PRAM without luck.... I'd try an OF reset too.


    Open Firmware reset -

    Hold the Command+Option+O+F keys during startup. This will put you in the Open Firmware Interface. At the end of any text you will get a '>' prompt. At that prompt type:

    reset-nvram -Hit Return
    set-defaults -Hit Return
    reset-all -Hit Return

    That should cause a reboot.

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    If others don't have suggestions I will have time later to help. I was fairly familiar with that G4 line and trouble shooting.

    Does this have the 133MHz or 167MHz bus

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    About all that is left is the SMC device (.....I think that's what is is called) that is part of the power button on the front.

    This seems to be very finicky on some MDDs, and I believe the "voodoo reset" addresses it.

    If you can round up a replacement module, might be worth swapping.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Question Are we talking about the same Voodoo steps...

    I found these very old notes buried in an AppleWorks document I'd saved. It looks like 2 or 3 copy and pastes of the Voodoo tip... from different Guru's threads. Some small variations?

    Guru Greentree fixed my G4 when it did this - Damien

    - remove the CPU
    - press the CUDA for 30 seconds or so
    - remove the PRAM battery!
    - unplug the power cable
    - press the power button to discharge any left over power (this might not actually be necessary)
    - let it sit with no PRAM battery for a while. I'm not sure exactly how long... probably an hour is good, but if you're patient, you∂ can leave it overnight.
    - then put everything back together and try the upgrade again.
    ------Another------- Greentree's original post I believe
    Remove ram. remove power cord. remove battery. Reset cuda/ PMU, push pwr button. insert pwr cord and boot yes without ram if you get a beep then ur back in business. put ram back in. if not as above but press pwr and cuda together. have had this issue with a good few G4's and this always fixes them. if not. then leave overnight with pwr out. battery and ram out and when you come in in the morning press pwr button on front one last time. then pwr up. Goodluck
    ------Another-------
    So, these would be the steps:

    1 power off, leave plugged in
    2 remove all ram
    3 remove all cables, including power
    4 press mobo reset button (PMU reset)
    5 press power button (still with no cables plugged in)
    6 plug in power, press power button (you should get the no ram indicator - 3 beeps)
    5 Power down and reinsert ram
    7 plug in power, power on

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Rolleyes "Black Screen no Chime"

    Will try all the suggestions today and repost what happens this evening.
    Thanks for all the comments!

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Rolleyes "Black Screen no Chime"

    Bus is 133 MHz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •