Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 43

Thread: Mac wont boot. No chime nothing. HELP (voodoo reset)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Default Mac wont boot. No chime nothing. HELP (voodoo reset)

    First of its a dual 867mhz g4 MDD.

    When i press the power button i dont get ne thing. Sometimes i ahce to hold down the power button just to get it to turn on but ither way it doesnt boot. there is no chime no error beeb's nothing. Ive tried diferent ram in different slots and still nothing. I have also disconected the hd, dvd and still nothing. Help!

    Thanks

    Zerosignull

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Ps. the light of the power button comes on then fades striaght away

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Z,

    ?Welcome. First thing to try is resetting the PMU. The Power Management Unit is a microprocessor that controls startup, sleep and shutdown and is reset by a little button on the motherboard. I have never had the 867 Dual model to know exactly where the button is, usually it is right next to the battery. The button is in a little 1/4 inch can and is a plastic 1/8 inch round button. Pull the power cord, press it once with a pencil or similar, hold for 6 seconds and then wait 20 seconds before hooking up the power cord and rebooting. That should get it going. If not we'll figure something else.

    Rick

    Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Default

    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ricks:
    Z,

    Welcome. First thing to try is resetting the PMU. The Power Management Unit is a microprocessor that controls startup, sleep and shutdown and is reset by a little button on the motherboard. I have never had the 867 Dual model to know exactly where the button is, usually it is right next to the battery. The button is in a little 1/4 inch can and is a plastic 1/8 inch round button. Pull the power cord, press it once with a pencil or similar, hold for 6 seconds and then wait 20 seconds before hooking up the power cord and rebooting. That should get it going. If not we'll figure something else.

    Rick

    _Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?_<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Tried that. same as before. the unit powers up. the drives spin up. no chime. then ~10 seconds later the main fan comes on full speed. nothing on the screen or and beeping from the mac

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    So here's a bit of Voodoo from Greentree,
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
    Remove ram. remove power cord. remove battery. Reset cuda/ PMU, push pwr button. insert pwr cord and boot yes without ram if you get a beep then ur back in business. put ram back in. if not as above but press pwr and cuda together. have had this issue with a good few G4's and this always fixes them. if not. then leave overnight with pwr out. battery and ram out and when you come in in the morning press pwr button on front one last time. then pwr up. Goodluck<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    You got me, but it worked for Damien on his MDD last week.

    Rick

    Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Default

    its Still refusing to do ne thing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    hi zerosignull,if the pwr light comes on when u press the button then goes off when you let go you have to use the dubbed "voodoo" method to fix it. you may have to try it a good few times. but I assure you it will work

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Burton, Ohio
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Tried the "Voodoo from Greentree" described in an earlier post after having tried everything else and it worked first time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    212

    Default

    Another "trouble in paradise"... A real puzzler.

    Did some light work with a 867MHz QS this morning. Everything went well. Though the weakest of my units, always been reliable. Shut the unit off as always, then switched off the power light on the power tap. Left for a good portion of the day. Upon return tried to start the same QS... Nothing, zilch.
    Power light comes on, goes off when I pull the finger. Hm... Checked and even switched the power cord. Same difference. Went to another unit, got on the web, straight to the 'Gurus' where I remember having come across several threads relating to the issue.

    Ok, found this one here... Followed Ricks advice re. removal of Ram. Video card & battery (which tested good). Did the VOODOO thing... Waited, then powered up. Lights came on on the mobo. Weird beep sound (chime..?) after quite a few seconds. Ok, I thought, I'm back in business. Pushed the power button, unit wouldn't shut down. Cut the power via tap switch. Reinstalled Ram etc. Tried booting... Zilch. Only the power button light came on again.

    Powered off, again... Removed Ram & battery, pushed cuda & power button at the same time for 'bout 6 to 7 sec's... Going to sleep now. Will try to follow the rest of 'Ricks route' in the morning. If anyone has a better idea or finds fault with proceedings, PLEASE POST!!!


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    PRAM zap. Or an Open firmware reset? OF reset bailed out me once - so did PMU. - Randy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Question Not this problem...

    When I attempt to start my computer I press the button and right when I release the power button, the light on it goes off (only stays on while the button is being pressed). The fans go on like normal, but that's it. Not sure about the hard drives Also, holding down the power button for 8 seconds does shut the computer down. The computer never chimes like it normally does on startup.
    Randy

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    Think you are on the right track. May take a couple more attempts, according to a couple other threads. Stick with it.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    212

    Confused

    Wow..! What would we do without the GURUS..?

    After my morning coffee, came right back to this here thread; encouraged...
    Went to the 867MHz, pushed he power button once more, then got the juice flowing (from the TAP) and powered up... YES, mobo light went on and (most importantly, for the first time) I could hear the HD spinning. Again I got one long sound (neither beep nor chime) while the light on the pwr bttn went on & off several times. Ok, pushed the pwr bttn for as long as it took and the machine turned itself off...

    Installed one Ram stick + the battery. Booted. Gurus, was I relieved..! Had to reset the clock, that's all. Will proceed with full Ram and if U don't get an additional posting, that would mean I am back to 'normal'.

    What puzzles me, obviously, is, how the trouble originated at all..? Just think, we didn't have these 'communities' we'd all be paying through the nose taking our computers to the shops... I mean, I had nightmares as to: CPU, graphics card, Ram and -as always- the mobo...

    VOODOO, indeed.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Maybe the PSU is tired? Telling you it wants a new UPS? weak battery? just needed to bleed off any charge or juice? I worry when it is cold/dry that I'll carry some static when I touch anything.

    LaCie FW cases seem to need a similar routine to fully discharge, but no idea why it happens.

    ... now go have your coffee and sit back!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    212

    Wink

    Thanks, Dr. TZ... Cold & dry, indeed. Unit running now with full 1.5 Gigs of Ram, nice & quiet. PSU..? I doubt it, simply because this QS doesn't get heavy work to do. No PCI or SCSI cards. My most challenged workhorse really is the QS with the 1.33MHz GigaBump. That one has a SATA PCI card, a PCI graphics card (Formac) and an Adaptec SCSI for the film scanner. My down again (after a mobo replacement) MDD is still waiting for the RMA papers from Apple Care... Spare me the details, at this point. "Kafkaeske"..!

    Is there such thing as "static overload"..? If so, that's probably what had caused the QS trouble.

    Am I relieved.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Actually, what I meant about PSU/UPS was that if your system has to do the work to manage voltage rather than a UPS, it does put some stress on the PSU, not that it wasn't strong enough.

    My house current is bad enough that I need a line conditioner / UPS - and had last UPS go out after 21 months (APC XS-1500), and while I can't be 100% certain, I think that contributed. I now run the system and UPS off its own line to the circuit board.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    My wild hunch: the PMU gets confused, and needs a full reset.

    Out of about 6 MDDs at work, we have one that needs a voodoo rest almost everytime it gets a full shut down. Hard to tell, cause it is a server that runs 24/7 for a year at a time with only a handful of restarts. Restarts are good, but full shutdowns.....it does not like. In a rack on a very nice high end UPS, had the problem when running from both the native ATA buses and a ATTO UL3S SCSI setup, and through several different OS installs.....so I don't know what else to blame 'cept the Mac itself.

    Maybe there is just a batch of MDDs that are finicky. Mostly problems with early ones I think?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default I have thought the same. Unc

    My wild hunch: the PMU gets confused, and needs a full reset.
    From my QS and recent DA experience I would agree. Exactly what I've sat here and thought it seems "the PMU gets confused" needs down time?, a different reset? I don't know. (How?) In fact as I box my QS up to get logic board or power supply fixed...... I still feel nothing is wrong and if it would just boot up once for me. But I am only guessing ... I got no experience except a few crashed computers. - Randy
    Last edited by rwm; 03-20-2006 at 11:44 AM. Reason: clarify

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    212

    Confused

    In hindsight...

    2 possible reasons which might have caused this particular incident...
    One, I do move files between computers via portable FW/USB devices. But I always make sure they get "ejected" before shutdowns. However, might they be the source of static..? (Unlikely, but U never know.)
    Two, I sometimes forget to "quit" PhotoShop (CS2 on this one) and it becomes visible, as a flash so to speak, during shutdown. That was the case that very morning.
    By the way, Dr. TZ, I have one of them big PSU's... Use it no longer, after it woke up the house one night, some 2 years ago, with its built-in alarm. Don't think we have power fluctuation problems here. One would assume, they would create havoc in not just one but all of the 3 G4's in my studio. Especially in the one which is 'heavily loaded'...

    Since Apple seems rather 'moot' on the issue, we have to try to get to the roots on our own...

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Hey Greentree_uk

    hi zerosignull,if the pwr light comes on when u press the button then goes off when you let go
    Which light - power light in front, on logic board? Where?

    I am getting ready to ship my QS off but might try one last boot.

    My QS problem......
    When I attempt to start my computer I press the button and right when I release the power button, the light on it goes off (only stays on while the button is being pressed). The fans go on like normal, but that's it. Not sure about the hard drives Also, holding down the power button for 8 seconds does shut the computer down. The computer never chimes like it normally does on startup.
    Randy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •