Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: B&W G3 Startup problems!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    I have a B&W 350Mhz G3. when it starts up The screen comes on and I get ? mark. system is not an issue I have a new HD in there and am booting from CD. when I don't have the HD attatched it boots ok. therefore nothing is on that IDE bus. when I put the HD on the machine gets to ? mark and switches resolution and I get a black screen this happens as soon as it picks up on the OS. I have tried nvram reset. pram reset even done it through open firmware. u guys got any ideas? I have also tried other drives.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    booting is intermittent it actually doesn't make a difference if the machine has a device connected to the primary IDE bus. so anyone an idea? bar replacing logic board? the video does come on before it accesses the system disk!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    You may just need to reset the pram, and flesh out the stored Startup Disk preference.

    At cold startup (not restart), hold cmd-opt-p-r until you hear 3 chimes.

    You will get the ? mark again since there's no currently stored Startup Disk preference. But just go the the STartup Disk control panel or System Preference and set it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    Thanks for help but still no joy. can you delete this file from OF? the machine boots fine but no screen!! I can even shutdown properly

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    the screen even wakes up from sleep and the screen turns on!! but only occasionally
    Help!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Are all your jumper settigs right? Double check the new "hard drive"? Master/Slave and such?

    Randy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    yes jumper settings fine

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    I have never got the resounding chime on startup... only when I reset pram but only when I am holding cmd + opt + p + r never from pushing the pwr button.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    miami, fl, usa
    Posts
    545

    Default

    I'm experiencing similar problems with my B&W G3 and here is what I have found in my search for a solution (besides get a new computer). Depending on which OS you are running, the machine needs the correct version of firmware - I believe that with OS9 you had to update the firmware or else you couldn't install the OS, and hence it probably won't boot it if already installed.
    By the way, how did you get the OS installed on this new hard drive, did you do it using a different computer or did this B&W used to boot alright? Also, the B&W can apparently be very particular about RAM, have recently installed new RAM?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Sometimes I wish there was a button to just upload a System Profile of RAM, DIMM First Aid, hardware, all the stuff ASP and OS X System Profiler create.

    Otherwise, we go around in circles and takes forever to get somewhere sometimes with hardware issues.

    We've had a few folks with B&W, some that were bought off ebay, new/used, rarely where its been existing owner for years and now having trouble.

    Disk drive make/model
    Driver used to initialize
    cables etc
    controllers and other add-ons
    (and firmware of any 3rd party cards)
    Battery.

    Some people have gone so far as to test voltage on various points.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    yes bif, mine is similar to yours. this machine had jaguar on it and am using a stock drive from another machine. however this happens with no drive attached! just boot from CD! I will check FW and get back.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    540

    Default

    BIF, Yes Firware seems to be an issue. I updated drive to 9.2 and it started to boot and behave normally. thanks. I have no solution for your 8.6 dilemma

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •