Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need advice on MOBO swap for B&W G4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lagunitas CA USA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    This is a Rev 1 B&W with PowerLogix G4 550 ZIF upgrade. It has been plagued with minor USB problems from day 1, mostly minor annoyances like random doubling of keyboard strokes, or having to unplug & replug a usb device after boot to get it to show up. The 10.2.5 update made things worse, and today, under 10.2.6, USB port 2 died . I need 2 onboard USB ports for optimum convenience on my system. What I want to know is:

    1. How hard is it to swap out the Motherboard? I have installed hard drives, processor upgrades, etc, but MOBO looks a lot tougher. Assuming I could even find a replacement, how likely is it I could install it without screwing something up?

    2. Could I install a Rev 2 MOBO in my Rev 1 machine?

    3. Is it worth the hassle, or should I just limp along & make do until I get my Rev 2 G5?

    [This message was edited by Gary P on Mon July 21, 2003 PT at 9:27.]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    A. Do a clean install straight to 10.2.6.

    I had trouble wtih the USB hub in my Apple Pro k/b with 10.2.5.
    Even bought a USB/FW card (excellent idea!)

    B. FireWire ports and cables and B&W are serious problem.

    See "A" for solution.

    C. What USB devices are you using?

    See MacIntouch USB Special Report.

    Does it happen with your ADB keyboard?
    Have you tried one of the newer Apple Pro (they're onsale at $49).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,109

    Default

    Hi Gary,

    ?B&Ws can be finicky about some things. I finally got mine running so well we now are using it as the main site development machine. Good ram, maintaining the hard drives and keeping newer drives off the motherboard ATA33 bus are the key.(as in adding a PCI host card to put new drives on a separate ATA bus)

    ?With those additions I finally have had a remarkably stable B&W.

    ?I can only agree with all of TZ's comments. Clean install is the first step. If you are having hardware difficulties it may be easier to replace the ports with a Sonnet Trio or a plain old Firewire/USB host card than do the whole motherboard thing.

    ?I THINK the rev1 is swappable to the rev2 mobo. I have not done that myself so I suppose that thought isn't worth a whole lot.

    ?Test your ram with Dimm First Aid. Subpar ram causes more grief with B&W computers than any other problem on any Mac except maybe lightning strikes. Your ram must be 8 nanosecond or faster. 10 NS ram is not good enough. Just about anything can happen on a B&W when you have 10NS ram mixed in with good stuff.

    ?Keep at it, you will solve this.

    Rick

    <font size=-1>Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?</font>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lagunitas CA USA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Doh! I had forgotten I could put a USB card in a spare PCI slot. Meanwhile, to make things more interesting, my ADB keyboard never experiences any character doubling. Every USB keyboard I've ever hooked up, including Apple Pro, randomly doubles characters. Next question: can I install USB 2 as long as I'm going to put a card in?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Why not try something like this first: USB FireWire combo ? You can get FW and USB on one card of course, for more $$.

    Between the cost and time of getting a MB, installing time, and the nail biting factor, I would make it my last option if I were in your shoes.

    __________________

    Charlie Don't Surf!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lagunitas CA USA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Wow, TransInternational has been a good RAM vendor, but my 3rd chip turned up out of spec! I have reported this to them:

    Model: PowerMac1,1
    PowerMac G3 (B&W)
    DIMM0/J19
    DIMM configured for 256MB
    8008040C0A02400001755400800800018F04060101000EA060 0000140F142C20
    15081508000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000012AF
    7F7F7F8A00000000005052494E4345544F4E00000000000000 00000000FFFFFF
    FFFFFF00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000FFFF64F5
    7.5ns PC133-333
    DIMM checks out OK

    DIMM1/J20
    DIMM configured for 256MB
    8008040C0A02400001755400800800018F04060101000EA060 0000140F142C20
    15081508000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000012AF
    7F7F7F8A00000000005052494E4345544F4E00000000000000 00000000FFFFFF
    FFFFFF00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000FFFF64F5
    7.5ns PC133-333
    DIMM checks out OK

    DIMM2/J21
    DIMM configured for 256MB
    8008040C0A02400001A06000800800018F04020101000EA060 00001410142D20
    20102010FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF FFFFFFFFFF12F0
    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF FFFFFFFFFFFFFF
    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF FFFFFFFFFF64F3
    10.0ns PC100-222
    CL3 not supported
    CL3 not set in Intel specification for 100Mhz support

    DIMM3/J22
    DIMM configured for 256MB
    8008040C0B01400001755400800400018F04060101000EA060 0000140F142D40
    15081508000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000012CC
    97610000000000004616640808000000000000000000000000 00000000000000
    00000007000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000000064F6
    7.5ns PC133-333
    Note: the number of column address bits is not compatible with newer Macs
    DIMM checks out OK

    One or more DIMMs are not compatible

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,109

    Default

    HA,

    ?Wouldn't it just be something if you pull that module, do some disk maintenance and everything starts working again? I've had a whole bunch of things that went bad attributable to just a bad ram module.

    Let us know how it works out.

    Rick

    <font size=-1>Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?</font>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lagunitas CA USA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    I pulled the out-of-spec RAM module, and regained functionality of my USB port 2 that I thought had died, as well as the USB system on my monitor, which "died" with the 10.2.5 update, came back to life. In addition, my keyboard stopped (or at least slowed way, way down on) doubling characters. I have just learned that bad RAM can cause a wide range of seemingly unrelated problems & mimic hardware problems.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,109

    Default

    ?Hahhahaaha,

    ?That is way too funny Gary. You won't believe how many people thinks we lost our collective minds, or at least many think I lost mine when I tell them to check their ram.

    ?Great news, a single ram chip is a hell of a lot easier to stomach than a motherboard. Glad you have a handle on it.

    Rick

    <font size=-1>Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?</font>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •