Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Herky Jerky

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento Valley CA USA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I'm getting the following strange behavior on my "modified" PowerWave (OS 9.04, NewerTech G3 300/512, JackHammer PCI, Rage Orion graphics card, Firewire Direct USB combo card): This behavior is an intermitent, rough sort of herky jerky mouse behavior coupled with windows and dialog boxes that open and close in slow motion (you can see the concentric rectangular outlines of them as they slowly open and close), plus delayed response to keystrokes and mouse clicks. As stated, this behavior is intermitent and I never know when it is going to start or end. Sort of comes and goes in waves. As I'm writing this note, there has been several bouts of it occuring where my keystrokes are not immediately displayed, then suddenly they come up on the screen (including the mistakes).Very irritating!

    I've tried: Rebuilding the desktop, Zaping the PRAM, multiple Zaping of the PRAM followed by an immediate restart with extensions off and the trashing the Finder and Display Preferences followed by regular restart. Replacing enabler files, changing startup drive, etc., etc., etc. Problem goes away for a short while after each of these remedies, but then it comes back.

    Could this possibly be caused by the incompatability between MacOS 9.04 and the JackHammer PCI? Or possibly the Rage Orion starting to fail? Any help will be much appreciated.

    Yoloman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    It's possible that it could be the JackHammer. It is not supported beyond 9.02. Are you using JackMammer 1.4.5?

    What disk and CD drivers are you using? If you haven't updated to something campatible with 9.04, that could be a problem. The OEM FWB 2.xx drivers are way out of date.

    The entire Apple OpenGL 1.2.1 Update package drives the Orion better than ATI's Universal Installer.

    Do you run DiskWarrior and NUM?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento Valley CA USA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    >It's possible that it could be the JackHammer. It is not supported beyond 9.02. >Are you using JackMammer 1.4.5?

    Yes.

    >What disk and CD drivers are you using? If you haven't updated to something
    >campatible with 9.04, that could be a problem. The OEM FWB 2.xx drivers are way >out of date.

    I'm using InTech's HardDisk SpeedTools v.3.1.1 and InTech CD/DVD SpeedTools v.5.6.0 Had to replace the OEM SCSI ribbon with a Granite teflon one to get the Intech drivers to work properly.

    >The entire Apple OpenGL 1.2.1 Update package drives the Orion better than ATI's >Universal Installer.

    Okay, I'll give that a try.

    >Do you run DiskWarrior and NUM?

    DiskWarrior 2.1, yes. NUM? Do you mean Norton Utilities? If so, no. TechTool Pro v.2.5.5 is what I've been using instead of Norton. I suppose I should upgrade to version 3.x?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento Valley CA USA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Okay, I installed Open GL 1.2.1. The problem persists. I guess the next step is either Norton or pull the JackHammer card.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    769

    Default

    If TTP says your system files are OK, I would next do a formal extension conflict investigation (easier with Conflict Catcher). You at least need to know if the problem occurs with a minimal extension set (Mac OS + any necessary hardware drivers). Other folks report running a JackHammer fine with OS 9.0.4.

    Regards

    [This message has been edited by MacMikester (edited 07 April 2001).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento Valley CA USA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I hate problems like this. Opened Conflict Catcher, chose a mimimal set, restarted and the problem seemed to disappear. Reopened CC and went back to original extension set in preparation for a conflict test, then restarted. Now I can't get the darn thing to misbehave. However, based on how this problem has been working, I'm pretty sure it will be back. But for right now it's running fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •