Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 8100 starts, then doesn't start next time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pittsburg, CA USA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    My 8100/100 AV wouldn't power up. So I removed the lithium battery, left it out for 10-15 minutes, put it back in and then the computer powered up. I left it running all day and over nite without any incident. Then when I shut it down and tried to power it back up, it would start. So I removed the battery again and put it back in after a short period. The computer then started again. But like the last time, as soon as I powered it down, it wouldn't re-start again. God, I can't keep removing the battery and returning it each time I want to use the computer, and with the energy crisis in California, I can't leave it on all day. What's going on?

    Thanks,

    Jeff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    Perhaps the machine needs a new PRAM battery (i.e the Li one you are removing).

    Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    Actually - at some level, I wonder if starting / stopping your machine is harder on it than simply leaving it on.. Perhaps an urban legend, but my understanding is that cycling the power supply tends to stress your machine more. I think the monitors are the most inefficient so you can set them to turn off after a time, but leaving the computers on likely doesn't cost too much energy-wise.

    Just my $0.02 - Our lab machines are always up...

    Chris

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northbrook, IL, USA
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I leave my machine(s) up except for vacations and weekends away. I do this in part because all the disk crashes I have ever had occurred on either startup or shutdown. Although with the CA power crisis, I would probably shutdown whenever I wasn't home to avoid a crash when my UPS runs out of juice. One of these days I will hook it into the computer. That said, in this case I would run to Radio Shack for a new battery. There have been other posts with the model number.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pittsburg, CA USA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Actually, I HAVE tested it with a new battery from Radio Shack. Also the battery that was in there was tested at 3.55V.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    Space monkeys....

    That's an odd one - I'm at a loss..

    O.K. - off the wall idea.. have you tried the Zap your PRAM hail Mary pass idea?... not sure but it can't hurt...

    Chris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    There is another thread here http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum8/HTML/000184.html that is much more convoluted but contains a related issue of bad power supply. Especially read comments by trag who knows about NuBus Macs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •