Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 8500 is a 7500???

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Is there any reason Apple System Profiler reports that my 8500 is a 7500/7600 model?

    8500/150 w/Sonnet G4/450 (formerly Newer G3/300)
    384 mb ram, OS 9.04.

    I've noticed this through both CPU upgrades--however my 7500 with the Newer card still says it's a 7500. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    ASP reads the ROM. I've never looked at 8500, but I should think it would read "8500" unless the ROM has been changed. Some 8500's had removeable ROM modules and some had empty ROM slots and the ROM was soldered on the logic board. Are you the original owner?

    ASP on a UMAX S900 says it's an 8500. ASP on a Power Tower Pro says it's a 9500.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    591

    Default

    I think that ASP looks at something in addition to the ROM to determine the model though. The reason that I suspect that is that the Apple Part numbers on the ROMs in my Umax S900 are exactly the same as the Apple part numbers on the ROMs in my 7500. I may be overgeneralizing, but I believe that the ROM in the 7500, 8500, 9500, S900/J700 and PTP/PW are all the same with perhaps a couple of different revs. available.

    The S900 used to be reported as a 9500 in the ASP then it changed to an 8500 and someone told me it's showing up as a 9500 again with 9.1, but I haven't checked that one out myself yet. Anyway, if ASP changes what kind of machine it sees from OS to OS, I suspect that means it is looking for somethign in addition to the ROMs.

    The 8500 motherboard is actually the same circuit board as the 7500 with the same components soldered on. The difference is that the 8500 has a couple of extra chips installed to support the video out functionality. On the 7500 one can see the blank spaces where the chips would be if the board were an 8500 instead of a 7500. That's why there is a speaker plug at both ends of the board. In a 7500 the left side plug is used. In an 8500 the right side (top edge in 8500) is used. This saved Apple the money of manufacturing two different circuit boards.

    However, I don't know why ASP would report an 8500 as a 7500. It should be smart enough to check for the extra video circuitry and tell the difference, I would think. Hmmm. Are you using the on-board monitor port or a PCI card? If you are using a PCI card with no monitor attached to the on-board video, the on-board video doesn't get activated and maybe that keeps ASP from telling the difference. That's a WAG, not necessarily correct.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    322

    Default

    This is the same problem I saw after changing a 7500 with an 8500 board.

    I had thought that maybe the id was only checked during system installation, and that if I reinstalled, it would read as an 8500. After reading this, it's apparent that is not the case.

    I'm at a loss. FWIW, I had a monitor using logic board video.

    [This message has been edited by despaxas (edited 20 February 2001).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Come to think of it...I'm using a TT128 PCI card swipped from a SuperMac clone. Could this combo be "fooling" my 8500 into thinking it was something else? Not a big deal (could always use 'wish I were' to change) but just curious.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    101

    Default

    BTW--I am the original owner and there is an empty ROM slot on the motherboard. Also ASP-Active enabler reports: PowerPC enabler 9.04 9.04 (double). I though this was strange as well. I have not see this on other macs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •