Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: FileMaker Pro Server 5.0v2 crashes when backups

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Here is my problem:

    I upgraded the FileMaker Pro Server last week and runs fine but crashes when FileMaker Pro does a backup. It backs up to the raid FileMaker is running on (worked fine with 3.0). I have ordered another 9GB Cheetah to have as the backup drive but this issue is bothering me. The SEL light on the Granite Term stays solid with the TRM light. (Solid SEL means target is waiting for the next command from the Initiator, or the target is reconnecting and hanging the SCSI bus) Here are the specs:

    Beige G3 Rev 1
    466 MHz Xlr8 zif
    256 MB PC-100
    Initio Miles U2W (Firmware1.06)
    Softraid 2.2.2
    dual 9GB Cheetahs in Raid 1
    Granite cable and terminator with remote led
    in a Marathon rackmount case

    The problem exibits itself under 9.1 and 9.0.4.
    Tried cache write through in the Xlr8 control panel
    disabled driver acceleration in Softraid
    Disabled all 3rd party extensions and control panels

    I have run the FileMaker Pro server on my B&W G3 (OS 9.1) with the Atto board and it backs up fine. The difference is, I am running two x15s but they are separate drives with Softraid drivers.

    This leaves two posibilities, the firmware on the miles2 board, or the raid 1. Before I pull another 12 hour day, and have to take the Atto board out of my B&W, wondered what do you guys think. I will try the Atto board to rule out the firmware on the Miles2 and I will unstrip the drives to rule out the raid. FileMaker always had issues writing to a raid. 2.2 killed most of them. Really think that is the issue.

    Thanks,
    George

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    George,

    Yours is the first report I have seen of one Miles2 causing that wait or hang. And I would have recommended trying enable Write-through which you have already tried. Judging by what you have checked, I would point towards FileMaker also, but I am curious about the results of what you intend to try, the ATTO board to rule out the Miles2 firmware, and also unstripe the drives. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    I have had two similar reports, J, one from Jay the Unnicknamed, and one from an anonymous customer who called a few days ago. In the past, when Jay the U discussed this with Mark James, he had nothing for him. No idea. The fact that it runs ok on the other machine....that is interesting. That suggests it could be a subtle cable or terminator problem, OR a Miles2 problem. Supposedly, this is the sort of thing that SoftRAID was engineered to do, so .....it should work, or at least be understandable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    guys,

    I setup both drives as individual drives and tried to backup to each. Experienced the crash both times. Darin suggested I reduce the speed of the zif which did nothing. Worth a shot.

    The 9 GB Cheetah should be here next week. I'll bring in the Atto board to test the night I stay for the install. Funny how it worked fine with the Atto board and Softraid 2.2.2.

    They are Granite cable and terminator. I'll test it with my personal set as well as the office set with the Atto board.

    Thanks,
    George

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    m,

    can you ask Dan @ Initio and Mark James to take a look at this?

    George

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    g;

    There is an obscure possibility to consider here; there are some that argue that the Rev A biege should not run that fast unless a Rev B ROM is installed. Those are getting real scarce. I happen to be hoarding a v4.5F1 module which I would loan you. I'd have to sort it out by installing several in my wife's machine. All subversions have the same Apple part number on the module.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Louie,

    the machine ran @ 400 Mhz with FileMaker Pro Server 3.0. I installed an Xlr8 466 MHz zif when I did the upgrade to FileMaker 5. Turned down the zif to 400 MHz to test (Darin's idea), still had the crash.

    This machine is running Rom Revision .40F2

    Thanks for the offer,
    George

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    OK; just had a WAG. I just realized lately that the extra Rev B ROM is a very rare commodity.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Just installed the Atto dual channel U3LD and the backup works! Same cables, Mac OS 9.1 with Softraid 2.2.2 in a raid 1.

    The Miles2 firmware is causing the problem.

    George

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    Magician:

    Seems like Bob at Initio needs to know this while he still has Kaye's machine and bevy of X15's on the bench.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    definitely. Can K mention it to him, since Bob has his machine on the bench? Jorge can send him the software, if necessary.

    Louie, I would be willing to barter something to you for that ROM. Let me know.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    I didn't know how scarce they were till someone quoted a $175 price wanted by some company for one. Let me think about what you have that I might want .

    I don't have any FireWire device, but I had to remove the FireWire card to get the second Miles 2 in. I suppose the Voodoo card could go, since I never have time for games anymore because of the forum.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I emailed George with all the data on Bob at Initio and with the go-ahead to reconfigure the PTP RAID to fit his situation, load software to his heart's content, but after Bob solves the problem that Louie/Ton/I have. k

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    thanks, K.

    I'm sure that Jorge will want to buy you beer.


  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    Let's see; George buys Kaye a beer, Kaye buys Bob a prostitute (or Darin - bad choice), Louie buys Bob and Kaye a________________? If he fixes it.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New Bedford, MA USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    only a beer? Thought it was gonna cost me more.

    Send Darin huh? Boy, what have I started.

    I will install Macsbug on the FileMaker server to try to get the exact error if Macsbug can catch it.

    g

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    ok.....who pulled my post?

    Darin?

    bad Cheetah!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •