Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ATAPI Zip Mac/PC - The same?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec City, QC, Canada
    Posts
    114

    Default

    I just saw a relatively good deal on an internal ATAPI Zip 250 Drive, though there's no info on the page on whether it's a PC or Mac version (PC probably, bt still...).

    *Are* there platform-specific versions of this internal ATAPI Zip 250 or do I have nothing to worry about?

    I want to stick it in a B&W/400...

    RP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    Don't know. Have you searched thru the Iomega pages? http://www.iomega.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec City, QC, Canada
    Posts
    114

    Default

    I did, but that's where the weird stuff starts. Iomega's pages state that their only ATAPI internal model is for Windoze exclusively, yet last week, I saw at an electronics store near home an Iomega box labeled "Zip 250 ATAPI internal Mac/PC"

    The salespeople at that store can't even get their heads out of their asses long enough to blow their noses and were no help in solving this little mystery.

    The reason I wouldn't buy the internal Zip there is because it costs too bloody much (about 180$ US). I saw a better deal (115$ US) at an online store, but there's no indication about Mac compatibility, so I wonder...

    I guess I could try comparing product numbers at this point. If the Mac/PC and online store versions match, I guess that means it would be okay, no?

    RP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    like SCSI, IDE is IDE.

    you can purchase any device, just about, and use it, assuming Mac drivers are available.

    You know, in the case of Iomega hardware, there are not only Iomega drivers, but third-party drivers like HDST and HDT.

    only devices with self-loading drivers, or platform specific firmware, are not usable across platforms. Stuff like PCI cards.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec City, QC, Canada
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Gotcha. Thanks, Mag!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec City, QC, Canada
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Just thought I'd add one last notice. I got my hands on a cheap, bare NEC Zip drive and I only had to put it in, plug it and it worked with the standard driver just fine!

    RP

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    Iomega driver?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec City, QC, Canada
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Yep.

    I use SpeedTools for CD/DVD and standard stuff for the rest (Drive Setup for HDs and Iomega driver for the Zip)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    Gotcha.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •