Thread: Playing Unreal Tournament via net or my router?????

I just purchased the Unreal Tournament from amazon.com for 20 bucks it was in a red box and new. I am a gaming novice.

Plays fine on my QS 733 with 896MB RAM. - me against the bots. Since it is an OS 9 game I was playing in OS 9 would OS X and "classic" be any better or worse?

I tried a few "multiplayer games" over the net, some worked most did not? I tried via my LinkSys router with my 7500 G3 400 and my QS 733 - No go - but I am sure I was doing things wrong. I am not a skilled player at all and do not know the maps or mazes but that is here nor there..

Any help, ideas, suggestions, websites. I have a good ADSL 512 connection and the 2-3 times things worked my speed seemed fine. How much memory should I give the game? I think Daimen has a web site dedicatrd to it.

Heck for all I know I bought a 10 year old version.

Help me guys, and thanks
    Randy

Hey Randy;

I remember you e-mailed me some time ago about playing on-line. That got my curiousity up so I tried it and ended up crashing my Mac. D-OH!

It would be cool to get our own Gurus tournament happening. I haven't been playing as much lately because I'm on my third trip through and Xan is kicking my ass! It's not as much fun when you just can't win......

Anybody have some tips for us amatuers?

The times I do connect things seem to work fine. Oyther thsn getting my a** beat and that is an understatement.

Actually I mucked a 3-4 people and was mucked out 50+ times.

Yea waiting 5-10-20 minutes and then not even connecting each time just to get my buns whooped at the risk of screwing my computer - don't sound as fun as it did once, the demo is looking better.

Damien's page helped - speeded up my fps.

Hey ya, a rookie tournament would be fun. We probaly live too far away from each other to get decent speeds. I am in western Montana.

Randy

HI ya Randy,

?I didn't know ANYBODY was in western Montana