PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using a Caldigit TS2 with an esata Burly multi bay enclosure?...



momo
01-03-2016, 06:19 AM
My Sonnet echo pro went belly up and I need a replacement solution asap. This caldigit ts2 has esata ports so I could plug my burly directly into it, but not sure if it will work with my 5 bay burly. Cost here 225 euros.

I've read it is uncertain it works with port multipliers. I think the burly has a port multiplier.

I also see here at magurus the lycom 6gb 4 port pcie card. Would have to buy the akitio thunder 2 as well. Cost about 320 euros without shipping.

Shipping is to France.

Would like to keep using my Burly if possible. Just need a quick but good reliable solution that isn't too expensive. Need my photo library back up and running.

Thanks
M

ricks
01-04-2016, 10:00 AM
We tried to purchase/test and decide whether the CalDigit unit worked properly. CalDigit informed us that they were not selling it to resellers since demand was high enough. So I never have had one in my hands. Cannot tell you how well it handles eSATA duties pr whether it works with port multipliers properly.

barrysharp
01-23-2016, 01:23 AM
My Sonnet echo pro went belly up and I need a replacement solution asap. This caldigit ts2 has esata ports so I could plug my burly directly into it, but not sure if it will work with my 5 bay burly. Cost here 225 euros.

I've read it is uncertain it works with port multipliers. I think the burly has a port multiplier.

I also see here at magurus the lycom 6gb 4 port pcie card. Would have to buy the akitio thunder 2 as well. Cost about 320 euros without shipping.

Shipping is to France.

Would like to keep using my Burly if possible. Just need a quick but good reliable solution that isn't too expensive. Need my photo library back up and running.

Thanks
M

I tried the CalDigit Ts2 with my 5-bay Burly eSATA Port Multiplier and found that it does not support Port Multiplier. The solution I have in place at this time for my MacPro6,1 (late 2013) with just Thunderbolt-2 and USB3 ports is...

ECHOPRO-E34 - Sonnet Echo ExpressCard Pro
TSATAII-PRO-E34 - Sonnet Tempo 2 Port Express34 Pro SATA Host Card

I run a thunderbolt cable to the ECHOPRO-E34 - Sonnet Echo ExpressCard Pro and insert the TSATAII-PRO-E34 - Sonnet Tempo 2 Port Express34 Pro SATA Host Card into it and then run an eSATA cable to the Burly. Works very well since Feb 2014. I don't believe Rick sells the ECHOPRO-E34 - Sonnet Echo ExpressCard Pro anymore..... sad.

ricks
01-23-2016, 08:41 AM
I would still sell it, except Sonnet stopped making the SATA Pro Express34 card that goes in it. No other card will properly support the port multipliers. It became a dead end.

Also, the Akitio Thunder2 PCIe adapter (http://www.macgurus.com/ecom-prodshow/Thunder2.html) is a lot more powerful, close to the same cost and has 2 Thunderbolt ports making it chainable.

An Express34 slot is a one lane PCIe slot. Limit in speed is about 200 MB/sec.

The Thunder2 has an 8 Lane PCIe slot. Its limit in speed is about 1400 MB/sec.

momo
02-10-2016, 05:05 AM
Been using the Caldigit ts2 for about a month now. Tried it because the folks at Caldigit said i could return it direct to them or amazon for 30 days if it didn't work. They were responsive and helpful via customer support.

The first week or so was hit/miss with connections and various things like email program freezing, lightroom too, going on. Another disk (a 3tb seagate-see below) that I repaired with disk utility went belly up so had to replace it. Updated photoshop/lightroom cc cause those are the programs handling files coming and going as far as my image libraries, tiff production, etc. from burly to computer.

Honest. Not sure where the 'problems' were coming from but started handling whatever I could think of one thing at a time.

Also did some cleaning. Un-installed the sonnet driver. Updated any drivers I could find for connections like my wacom tablet.

Followed caldigit advice for the order in which to connect the ts2 to my 5 bay burly and the macbook pro (summer mid 2015 mbp OS 10.10.5 - model 11,5). It's on their website under faq.

Rick, I'm happy to say it has been rock solid for the last 3 weeks. I only sleep or restart my computer. Often sleep/wake during the day as I come and go. Perfect. No disks self ejecting. No frozen screens. No nothing but blissful work. I hate when technology problems takes my time away from work.

Also, one of the hard drives I had to replace in the Burly, a drive I use as scratch for photoshop, works as a bootable start up disk. Amazing. True. But I haven't tried it yet. I just copied over the mbp hard drive via carbon copy cloner. So I've got a second backup of my whole system backed up. It's a 2tb seagate, 7200 rpm disk, and it still leaves over 1.5 tb of space for photoshop scratch. More than enough for my working files.

I hope this continues. I love the Burly. Solid since I bought it in 2008. Could not see abandoning it unless I couldn't find a solution. Been using ccc for back ups. Oh, using as jbod no raid. That might make some difference.

I'll be in the US again mid march and may order your two bay burly usb3/esata for another solution. Have it as back up to my back up or something like that. Need to think it out. But I have a free usb3 port on the mbp and several on the caldigit ts2. I will email you with some specific questions as I get closer to departure date.

Ok. That's all I got so far. Thankfully, five new disks, actually four new disks in the burly. All images backed up safely as I went through this mini nightmare of disks going kaput. I think some of it was the loose sonnet box/34express connection I bought. Maybe some software related. And I'm not sure what blame to place on failing hard drives. It almost felt as one went defective it infected the others. Can hard disks transmit a virus? ;-)

The one 3tb Seagate drive I bought was replaced with a new one. I paid ten bucks up front for a new replacement if it had problems/failed within the first year. It was only six months old. Hope this new one doesn't crash and burn like the first. I've read bad stats on this particular 3tb 7200 rpm model. Think it was Back Blaze? The slightest hint of a problem and I'll save files and trash it. For sure it won't go back in the Burly now.

On this latest set up. 4 4tb drives. Two seagates. Two hgst. 1 2tb drive from seagate. All 7200 rpm. I think they are all 64gb cache. Hope these last 3 years without problems. I like that the hgst's have 3 year warranties.

Rick. Thanks for all your help. Much appreciated.

Morris

momo
02-10-2016, 05:07 AM
I do like that the connections now seem straight forward. Easy. Burly via esata cable to Caldigit ts2. Caldigit ts2 via thundebolt to computer. That's it.

ricks
02-10-2016, 04:14 PM
Thanks for the report.

Damien
01-08-2018, 10:38 PM
This post was somewhat instigated by me. Was wanting to make some changes and bring my burly's up to date (or nearly so). Rick and I had some conversation and I decided to get the CalDigit. The TS2 is here along with the Guru's bridgeboard. Cables are here as well. I'm waiting on the Burly Lite I ordered, should be here Tuesday. This brings me to the new Burly lite, one 4 bay Burly and a single bay Burly, both beige... yeah they're THAT old*. Still going strong. Plan to connect everything up on Friday. I hope I can get the PM working. Not looking for anything fancy just want drives on it no raid

* I was buying from MacGurus before Rick bought the place, so he inherited me... I hear they had to lower the price significantly because of me

Damien
01-14-2018, 01:59 PM
Okay the Thunderbolt Station 2 and the port multiplier bridge board works out of the box! I put the board in my 4 bay burly. One caveat: you must use all hard drives... can't mix in an optical drive.

ricks
01-14-2018, 02:10 PM
Reason for the no mix rule is that opticals use ATAPI protocols. For some reason, this screws up things when ,mixed. Always been that way. We often would set up a separate eSATA cable to just an optical drive for anyone wanting to mix. You can run all 5 ports on a port multiplier board with optical drives, however the eSATA host, in this case the CalDigit hub, must also support ATAPI data protocol.



Damien says he is getting tons of spam added to his posts. This a test to see if it happens to mine.
edit: so far nothing. I'll keep trying.

ricks
01-14-2018, 09:06 PM
Testing testing

testing

tested

Damien
01-17-2018, 07:51 AM
Hey Rick,

Didn't see anything in my account that would cause the spam thing. But I did change my password. It didn't help. The problem does not show up on preview only when trying to post. The problem does not show up at http://www.jeepforum.com/ which I think uses the same software as you do. Weird. In the editor I get

1291

Switch to plain text and I get

1292

Approximately 24k characters are added. This is more than your software allows so I get the error message. Some kind of script that apparently needs hundreds of spam/porn looking website addresses