PDA

View Full Version : Am I nuts?



momo
11-04-2013, 09:13 AM
Thinking about buying a used Mac Pro 5,1 version instead of a macbook pro/imac/mac mini to replace my 2008 macbook pro.

Why? Keep on being able to use all the equipment I have via all the connections. Would only have to buy a card to attach my burly to the computer. That's it. I've seen pretty tricked out mac pro's today for around 1750 euros.

I work on photos. No video. Average size about 100 mb's. Maybe closer to 200 when the sizes get up there, but it's rare.

Are the i7 processors and new ram so much faster than even the most recent mac pro?

I'd hope it would last a year or two minimum...by then maybe the new cylinder mac pro that apple will be selling will have tons of peripherals that work with the connections available and don't cost a small fortune.

Go on. You can tell me if you think I'm nuts to go this route. Should I just get a new macbook pro with lots of ram and shell out for a new enclosure from Rick with thunderbolt connections to replace my perfectly working burly?

then I'd have to see about connections i now use, ethernet, firewire, dvi,...

thanks for any advice...

Damien
11-04-2013, 09:28 AM
well you won't need a new enclosure from Rick.... your burly will work fine because you can replace just the bridge board inside it and your burly magically becomes a thunderbolt burly

And if you get a Tbolt Apple monitor all those other connections are right on the back... though it would be cheaper to get adapters

momo
11-04-2013, 09:48 AM
thanks Damien...I wonder if Rick can point me at the things I'd need for this upgrade?...new cables inside for the burly?...

Damien
11-04-2013, 10:53 AM
New cables inside the burly would not be necessary. One bridge board inside and one new cable outside should do it. IF the boards ever get here..... yes it seems my memory has failed me. I thought there was now a TB board available but Rick does not have one listed and a quick google search doesn't find any either. Sorry I misled you. I have no doubt they will get here but when is anyone's guess

In the meantime you could use one of these (http://www.belkin.com/us/F4U055/p/P-F4U055/)

ricks
11-04-2013, 12:21 PM
So far, there are no Thunderbolt bridge boards for sale. See Thunderbolt Article here (http://www.macgurus.com/productpages/guides/USBThunderbolt.php).

We'll have to make choices moving forward on how we handle our eSATA when we upgrade to newer Macs with only USB 3 and Thunderbolt. Eventually there will be components to upgrade to Thunderbolt, but cross that bridge when it is in front of us.

With a MacPro, just drop a PCIe eSATA card (http://www.macgurus.com/store/ecom-catshow/PCIeSATAHostCards.html) in it. The 4 port card is probably the best choice long term with performance benefits over the 2 port card. Either will work fine.

Rick

momo
11-05-2013, 02:03 AM
So far, there are no Thunderbolt bridge boards for sale. See Thunderbolt Article here (http://www.macgurus.com/productpages/guides/USBThunderbolt.php).

We'll have to make choices moving forward on how we handle our eSATA when we upgrade to newer Macs with only USB 3 and Thunderbolt. Eventually there will be components to upgrade to Thunderbolt, but cross that bridge when it is in front of us.

With a MacPro, just drop a PCIe eSATA card (http://www.macgurus.com/store/ecom-catshow/PCIeSATAHostCards.html) in it. The 4 port card is probably the best choice long term with performance benefits over the 2 port card. Either will work fine.

Rick

Rick, are you talking about the older 5,1 macpro tower or the new one coming next month?...

i get the evolution/revolution of processor speed and development but I really liked the tower idea with built in drive bays and all these options for connecting different types of devices...and for me, only working on photos and text these days, I bet I could be happy with the older mac tower for a while yet...

also, thanks for link to the 'situation' with usb3 and tb...man, so many obstacles, so much cost, do they want people using these things or not?...but like you say, change/progress should come fast and furious soon if people want to make a buck...

kind regards...

ok, answered my own question by going to the link you provided...the card works up to 10.8.5 so it's the older tower for now at least...