PDA

View Full Version : iMac 27" 2013 + MBP Retina + 2 24" Screens?



jboive
02-22-2013, 03:56 AM
I have two HP ZR2440w screens and a MBP Retina and waiting for my iMac 27".

I can't daisy chain the screens and the iMac only has 2 Thunderbolt ports.

I would like a clever way to hook up my MBP to the iMac and use all screens when I so desire.

Is it possible?


Thanks!


/J

unclemac
02-22-2013, 03:43 PM
So, you want the iMac to push video to the 2 external displays, and to the MBP? So 3 externals off the iMac?

I think the only way is via a different port, like this (http://www.screenrecycler.com/ScreenRecycler.html). It will be slower, because it is a network connection. OK, for menus and static windows, but likely not fun for video or other high motion needs.

ricks
02-22-2013, 05:04 PM
Might be able to use a Expansion chassis and a external graphics card.


Cheaper than a pair of Thunderbolt monitors.

Rick

unclemac
02-22-2013, 05:43 PM
The other thing out there is USB2 to VGA. Again, slow for live motion anything, so only good for palettes and such. Need a driver to go with, so has to have Mac support (most are likely Windows only).

Rick's suggestion is the only way to get full speed video.......but $.

.....So, the iMac plus two 24" monitors (http://www.engadget.com/2011/05/03/apple-imac-hands-on-with-dual-30-inch-displays-video/) is really not enough? OK.....these are 30", but still. Alot of real estate, no?

ricks
02-22-2013, 06:15 PM
This is what MacPros were made for.


R

jboive
02-23-2013, 06:10 AM
Hey there and thanks for the great replies! :)


I work at clients using my MBP and would like to continue working when I get home in the easiest way possible.

I've already bought everything, so I'm not to keen on changing what I got. Or that's not an option, to be frank.

My first idea was to hook the MBP up and use all the others as screens, but I've reconsidered. It would be a shame to waste all the power of the iMac.

The plan now is to setup file sharing on the MBP and access my work files in that fashion. Basically just running my server software and acting as a external HDD.

I still can't use Thunderbolt for file transfers, but my files aren't usually that big anyway so Gigabit ethernet will do.


Unless anyone else got a smarter idea?


Thanks!

/J

unclemac
02-26-2013, 12:49 PM
Sounds reasonable. Consider setting up something that will sync automatically, or at least methodically.

DropBox or something like that is great, and helps with versioning.....unless you need many GBs of space. There are literally dozens of options, most built around cloud-based storage. Handy redundancy, but costs can add up for large piles of data, and security can be questionable.

Just bumped into a new company (http://filetransporter.com/learn-more/) that is selling a network storage device to essentially build your own cloud storage.....which should be faster, cheaper, and more private.

If you just want to sync between two machines, with no other storage, access, or backup needs....then a sync application will get you there. Many to choose from:

ChronoSync (http://www.econtechnologies.com//pages/cs/chrono_overview.html)
GetBackup (http://www.belightsoft.com/products/getbackup/overview.php)
Tri-Backup (http://www.tri-edre.com/english/tribackup.html#)

the list goes on and on......