PDA

View Full Version : Oops - Disk Utility RAID Mirror Problem

spclark
06-02-2010, 08:54 AM
Last week my mirrored (via Apple's Disk Utility) 10.5.8 boot volume suffered a degraded RAID pair & failed to boot my 1st gen Mac Pro.

So I booted from my maintenance volume, tried to repair the degraded mirror pair with a re-partition....

Guess that's not the way to do this as after a restart the remaining RAID volume, now a loner, fails to even appear in System Profiler or any of the other disk-related utility programs I have: SoftRAID 4, Disk Warrior 4.1, TechTool Pro 4, Data Rescue II.

I've tried moving the invisible drive to another internal SATA port, as well as pulling it physically & using an OWC universal adapter to connect by either USB or to an add-in eSATA 4-port external drive host card.

So far no luck. That drive doesn't want to appear at all.

Is there any way to get it to show up again on my Mac Pro?

rwm
06-02-2010, 05:29 PM
I am no RAID expert but the HD sizes, makes, models might help others. You have some good tools. Hang on... don't panic yet :eek:

ricks
06-02-2010, 07:58 PM
You may be able to get a utility like Disk Warrior to repair that volume. It somewhat depends on what the corruption is that damaged it. Afraid I have no estimate of the likelihood of success. Worth a try if the data on the boot volume is unique and hard to replace.... my guess is it is basically everything of yours from Applications to emails, including licenses and passwords.

I would recommend you start with Disk Warrior, see if it can repair it. Does Disk Utility see the drive? That is important since if it doesn't then DIsk Warrior won't either.