PDA

View Full Version : Video Display Banding (vertical)?



brad_owens
04-28-2010, 06:08 PM
Hi, does anyone know the cause of the vertical band and distortion that I'm getting on my display? It's a ppc G5 Dual 2.3, and the card is an ATI 9650 256mb.

Here's a couple pics:
http://i40.tinypic.com/w0dtw.jpg
http://i40.tinypic.com/2i9tvf5.jpg

thx,

brad

rwm
04-28-2010, 08:31 PM
There are a few threads around the forum that discuss banding they may or might not help... worth a look... Here is my first search of the site for "banding" http://www.macgurus.com/forums/search.php?searchid=359188
I am not positive now... see what others think. I'll be back to assist if I can. :)

brad_owens
04-28-2010, 08:38 PM
yes, I did the same search, revealed nothing. I've got an query in to AMD, as well.

brad

There are a few threads around the forum that discuss banding they may or might not help... worth a look... Here is my first search of the site for "banding" http://www.macgurus.com/forums/search.php?searchid=359188
I am not positive now... see what others think. I'll be back to assist if I can. :)

unclemac
04-28-2010, 09:45 PM
Typically artifacts such as those are hardware related.

Any chance you have a different card or monitor to test?

Beyond that.....software testing would include likely running a clean OS, maybe on a different drive. Any chance there might be a driver or firmware update? Long shot: Maybe driver update in 10.5 (looks like you are running 10.4, yes?). BTW, how is Chuck treating you? Looks like you are doing OK over the last year, all things considered. ;)

Oh, and it won't hurt to shut down the box and reseat the card. Not likely the issue, but quick to rule out. Maybe blow out the slot too.

brad_owens
04-29-2010, 08:36 PM
it's all good for now. Last night I powered down for a couple hours, then when I booted up, the symptom was gone and hasn't resurfaced. I've been on the computer all day. We'll see.

cowboyonamac
04-30-2010, 01:29 PM
My MacBook Pro does this occasionally on the 23" monitor I use as my primary desktop screen.

A simple reboot has never failed to remedy it.

I have yet to determine a cause.