PDA

View Full Version : random black screen at startup



zetoune
10-19-2009, 07:43 AM
Hi there,

I have a problem with my MacPro (Early 2008).
For the last month, sometimes it starts but the screen stays black. It seems that no signal is sent to the monitor.

I can see my Mac Pro desktop with "Share screen" from my MacBookPro.
I know that the monitor works. If I plug it in my MBP when the problem occurs with the MacPro, the screen does switch on and if I plug it back in the MacPro, it stays black again.

Moreover, when everything is ok, the DEL of the speakers switch on as well.
When the problem occurs, the DEL stays off.

It's like the video card sends no signal to the monitor.

Any ideas?

The computer:
Mac Pro earyly 2008.
Eight-core 2.8 Ghz
4 GB Ram
Radeon2600 HD XT
Hard drive:
sata 1 : WD 640 GB
sata 2 : WD 1TB
sata 3 : Seagate 500 GB
sata 4 : WD Raptor 160 GB

unclemac
10-19-2009, 09:34 AM
Don't think there is an easy way to test, but sounds like a failing video card. Almost need a loaner to swap out.......otherwise you would have to buy a new one (few choices, none are cheap) just to find out.

Any chance you have AppleCare? Has it been less than one year since date of purchase......sounds unlikely.

zetoune
10-19-2009, 11:05 AM
I have an extended warranty with VISA so it is under warranty. Almost nobody knows that every VISA card offer this warranty without any extra fees. VISA doubles the manufacter's warranty up to one year. It's the case for Canada, not sure for the USA. I did use the VISA warranty to replace my MacBookPro motherboard after 19 months, so it works! But it's not as good as the AppleCare.

The problem is, I can't bring the computer to the nearest store and leave it there for 3 days or more. I need it to work.
I went to the my Apple reseller to buy a nVidia GeForce GT 120 512 MB for $180 (CAD). It works like a charm.
I guess you are right, the Radeon seems to fail.

Thank you.

unclemac
10-19-2009, 12:55 PM
Good to know, good tip about the CC card.

Anyway to get some sort of reimbursement?

zetoune
10-20-2009, 07:27 AM
I will see, but I'm pretty sure they won't accept it.
Actually I'd like to keep the GT 120 which is compatible with OpenCL.
Maybe it will better for the upgrade to Snow Leopard and CS4.