PDA

View Full Version : Configuration for speed for 2009 Mac Pro

thomas mcconville
05-10-2009, 11:09 PM
Hey my Mac friends, well Ive finally decided to lay to rest my loyal Powermac G4 Quicksilver 2002, Im a Pro Photog, so my newer higher resolution cameras have layed waste to this G4 and its useless now for processing files from these cameras.
Im buying the Nahelem Mac Pro 2.26 Ghz.
My main deal is Photoshop, working with files from 30MB to 3 GB, so optimization of the computer will be based on that.

Ive been reading up on the fastest boot drives, best harddrive configurations ect ect, but am still a little unsure about it all, so of course I come here to the Pro's for advice (love ya Ricks).
So with the little knowledge I have on the matter, let me explain the configuration I tentatively have for this Mac Pro.

1#Was thinking of using a single Velociraptor 300GB for boot drive (would 2 raptor 300gb in raid 0 be better, or something else even?).

2#Was thinking maybe using also 2 Raptor 300gb's in raid 0 for scratch disc (that would fill the Mac Pro bays up.

3#I already have a Burly 5 bay sata PM box, which I'm going to use with the Mac Pro, was thinking of using one Raptor 300gb or a Seagate 1TB 7200.12 for working files, the other 4 drives are for backing up and archiving permanent files. (is a Sata drive in a burly box as fast as an internal sata drive in the Mac Pro?).

4# I plan on getting 16GB of ram.

What do you think?:confused:

Damien
05-11-2009, 07:38 AM
allow me to start...

1 One raptor = good but Raid0 = bad (in this application) See the OS uses many hundreds of small file transfers (maybe thousands) and that is exactly what a raid0 does NOT do very well. Raid0 is made for sustained throughput not many itty bitty transfers and using a raid0 sometimes/usually actually decreases performance on the boot drive. One fast drive is better.