PDA

View Full Version : Advice on storage upgrade

drewharty
12-28-2008, 02:30 PM
Hello,

I am a professional photographer and videographer. I work on a dual quad core MacPro with a Lycom 4 port card, one system drive, one internal drive for photo files, two internal drives in raid 0 for video editing, and one 4 bay PM box for archiving P2 master video files. My storage and protection of master files is good; my storage of project files in getting overwhelmed, and I have a few questions about upgrading:

1. With the Lycom 4 port card and a 4 bay PM enclosure, can I have 3 drives in raid 0 and a 3rd drive as backup (I only need to back up active projects.), or is it better to set up a Raid 0 with an even number of drives?

2. Is a raid 0 drive with 4 smaller drives any more or less stable than one with two larger drives? Common sense would suggest to me that fewer drives would be less prone to failure but don't know if there are other factors to consider?

3. Would an Areca 1221x card utilizing raid 6 be a better solution than multiple raid 0 volumes?

4. What software would you recommend for auto back up of data, and will the software back up from unmatched pairs of drives, say from a raid 0 to a single drive?

Thanks, Drew Harty

ricks
12-28-2008, 09:09 PM
Well, let's see. First thing is, doesn't really matter all that much whether it has 2, 3 or 4 drives in a RAID0. A drive failure is the issue and a backup is the solution. Also protects from brain farts: "oops, I erased it" and corruption problems.

I don't really look at number of drives as a huge factor in failure rates. If you test the drives, and if you use quality drives, then failures are relatively infrequent. And whether you have set of 4 x 500 GB drives or a pair of 1TB drives, the failure you plan for is the same. The big difference will be that the set of 4 drives will be twice as fast.