PDA

View Full Version : iPod firmware upgrade - can't use iPod now!

bigfrog
05-07-2008, 02:58 PM
I am on OS X 10.4.8 (I have to be, because of the version of Pro Tools I am using) - which means I am on iTunes 7.5.

iTunes 'helpfully' offered to upgrade the firmware on my iPod Classic, so I foolishly said OK.

Now iTunes won't talk to the iPod, because the iPod wants iTunes 7.6, which needs OS X 10.4.something-higher-than-what-I-can-use.

I am stuck. Any help much appreciated.

rwm
05-07-2008, 05:57 PM
Now iTunes won't talk to the iPod, because the iPod wants iTunes 7.6, which needs OS X 10.4.something-higher-than-what-I-can-use. I have read this in a few places. I started playing with an iPod Touch last week.

Your stuck - hummmm. FW Drive? A backup? A partition you can use for a quick install? An extra drive? Retail DVD 10.4.x?

Greentree_uk
05-08-2008, 12:23 AM
Protools info

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?langid=51&navid=54&itemid=22904

don't see any reason not to upgrade. but why not clone your drive and try it. atleast you'd then be able to boot off your clone if only to update your ipod....

rwm
05-08-2008, 12:10 PM
Or is it time to start over clean fresh install. No things are in good shape on this drive. ;)

unclemac
05-08-2008, 08:40 PM
Some of the ipods.......shuffles for sure........have firmware reset download available. Have you looked for your model? How about a restore (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1339?viewlocale=en_US)?

M.Brane
05-08-2008, 09:12 PM
I swear Apple, and Digidesign become more like M$ every day.:rolleyes:

Never, ever, update/upgrade anything if you are happy where your are, and think seriously before you decide to take the upgrade plunge.

If you wipe the iPod completely, and can install an older version of the firmware you might be OK, but I don't know if that is possible. My Mini is still on an older version since it works fine.

bigfrog
05-10-2008, 05:39 PM