PDA

View Full Version : New Mac Pro drive set-up

switters
12-27-2007, 09:26 PM
In a couple of weeks I'll be getting a new Mac Pro. Not sure yet whether it will be a new Penryn model (if there is one by then) or a refurbed or used Woodcrest. I'm an advanced amateur photographer and I use Photoshop CS3 & Adobe Lightroom to process files in the 10 - 75 MB range. No 3D, gaming or video work at all. I should say, however, that I'm a bit of a speed demon!

I currently have a 750 SE2 and 74 GB Raptor in a G5 dual-core. I'd like to keep these drives and use them as the basis of a new configuration in the Mac Pro. I will also have 9 GB of RAM in the new machine, which should speed things up considerably in Photoshop.

I was thinking of the following configuration:
Drive A (750 SE2): boot drive with system & apps
Drive B (750 SE2): file drive with user directory & images
Drive C (750 SE2): Time Machine backup drive for A & B
Drive D (74G Raptor): Photoshop scratch

...but I'm sure you will have a better idea for how to maximize performance and utilize the drive space, perhaps using partitions and RAID 0.

I am grateful for your help!

ricks
12-28-2007, 09:36 AM
Sounds like fun. Congrats on getting into a new machine here is the near future. A couple thoughts...

Time Machine is a storage hog. You will find it uses a lot more space than the drive(s) it is used to backup. For instance, one of our servers has accounting data only on it. Those files and the OS+apps are all that are on it and comprise a grand total of 20 GB of hard drive space. The Time Machine backup, running for a month or so is over 25 GB is size. You will need a LOT more space if you use Time Machine for photo storage. As you have it set up you are not going to be happy for very long since you will start out overflowing the TM drive.