PDA

View Full Version : Backup Strategies

beyoyo
11-01-2007, 04:18 PM
I'm a noob at this whole RAID thing. I have a Burley 4 bay and my top 2 drives are mirrored and acting as my FileServer for my studio. I just bought 2 more drives for the bottom 2 bays and have those all formated and ready to go.
Now What?
I would like to have a backup of all the files on the top 2 drives. I figured I could use Drive 3 to do that and then have a 4th drive to use as extra storage. (TimeMachine backup for my G5 or something.)

Is this a bad idea?
Should I make a RAID out of the bottom two drives and back up the top two to that?
What software do you use to back up a mirrored RAID?
I've been poking around the Forums, but I can't seem to find an answer.

Thanks
-Bill

ricks
11-01-2007, 04:50 PM
I am not much a fan of mirrored RAID. Its problem is its instantness. Any damage done the first drive is instantly copied to the mirror.

I think with what you are doing I would make a RAID0 out of drive 3 and 4. This will make one big volume. Then designate that as your Time Machine drive and let your computer back everything up to it. Not only do you have the copy of drive 1 on drive 2, but you also will have the Time Machine copy of it and all your internal drives. Good solid plan.

Rick

beyoyo
11-01-2007, 07:31 PM
I guess I am a bit paranoid after we lost a harddrive in our laptop... (Cost us $2400 to get it recovered)... So I went with the mirroring.

The Burly 4bay is actually connected to a Mac Mini running OSX Server 10.4.10. The G5 I was referencing is my main computer.

Would you recommend starting over with out the mirroring? It wouldn't be too hard to do because this is a new set up and not much is on it yet.
Since this machine is on 10.4 not 10.5 what would you recommend software wise to back the drives up?

Thanks
-Bill

unclemac
11-01-2007, 08:38 PM
Do the mirroing thing if up time is critical. Protects you from drive failure only.