PDA

View Full Version : How's the ATA chip in the beige G3?



Damien
09-21-2007, 02:12 PM
I realize it will be slow and size limited, but is it safe to depend on? Or is it buggy like the B&W ata chip?

TZ
09-21-2007, 04:08 PM
It is ATA/33 18MB/sec but it does work.

As far as data corruption, I don't think so.

Damien
09-21-2007, 06:49 PM
Cool, thanks TZ. Going to try to get this beast running again. Got a spare 7200.8 80gig Seagate that would be nice in it.

Nicolas
09-22-2007, 03:31 PM
Rev2 (Rage Pro) and Rev3 (Rage Pro Turbo) Logicboards don't have issues.
First Revs (Rage II, Rage IIc) lag on Master Slave support.

Regards

Nicolas

TZ
09-22-2007, 04:08 PM
I had Rev A MT and I'm sure I never had two drives on one bus and just had CD and one disk drive on their own.

Damien
09-22-2007, 06:22 PM
Yeah I won't be having any slave drives either