PDA

View Full Version : Hardrive Set-up

motoko
09-14-2007, 03:07 PM
Hi

This is my first time to post here;) I want to ask for your suggestions regarding hardrive set-up for video editing using Final Cut Express in my MacPro plus general computing tasks.

Currently it has the stock 250 GB and I added another 250 GB as clone drive.

Now I just received 3X 500 GB SATA drives. What could be the best possible set-up? Presently I am thinking of this set-up:

1X 500 GB as bootdrive with all applications and data and everything.
1X 500 GB as bootable back-up to the main boot drive (I will place this on the lower DVD drive bay and use the SATA port on the motherboard)
2X 250 GB as RAID 0 as scratch disk for video capture
1X 500 GB to store all my media files (video projects on progress)

What other set-up can you suggest? My main use for this MacPro is for FCE. Thank you.

regards
motoko

TZ
09-14-2007, 03:21 PM
I would not recommend buying the MaxUpgrades kit to add drives to the optical drive bays. The one they sent me interferes with the top optical drive from opening and closing.

Getting at the two SATA ports is darn hard! sweaty work, too.

A balanced symmetrical memory configuration of 4 x 1GB or 4 x 2GB is ideal and recommended.

X1900 XT obviously as well.

I tend to avoid putting anything on the boot drive except for the OS and applications.

External eSATA for backup, storage, and media, and for a copy or two of the OS (one working copy, and one for emergency or prior version). FW800 or even 400 is fine for keeping a copy of the OS.

Is a stripped array of just two drives going to be fast enough? large enough?

Also, if you want best performance, the newest high-density 750GB drives are nice.