PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop CS3



TZ
12-18-2006, 06:02 AM
Following up on Thomas Hayes's Photoshop CS3 tests, several other readers sent in Intel-based Mac results for comparison:

[Michael Monahan] Speed Test Results - 24" iMac C2D 2.33Ghz, 2GB ram, 250 MB hard drive, Nvidia GeForce 7600 GT 256 MB. Three tests each for CS3 beta and CS2. Computer restart between each test. History state: 1, Ram usage: 100%.

CS3 Beta: 0:55, 0:55, 0:57
CS2: 2:09, 2:10, 2:10

[Tony Aguila] Downloaded the Photoshop Speed Test that Thomas Hayes used to test Photoshop CS3 on the Mac Pro. I ran the same tests on my 3 GHz machine and came up with much better scores.

20 history states, 70% memory, Maxtor 7H500F0 drive: 1:15 (vs. 1:33)
1 history state, 100% memory, Maxtor 7H500F0 drive: 0:34 (vs. 0:50)

Six runs. Above scores are average with very little deviation. Contrary to what I've read about the 3 GHz machines not being noticeably faster than the 2.66 GHz units, the additional speed now seems to manifest itself with intensive tasks.

I also ran the same script on a 112 megabyte file (the test file was 23.4 megs) and performed the task ending up with a 1.5 gigabyte file. Temperature Monitor showed an average rise in CPU core temperatures of about 4 deg. C. There was no apparent increase in memory module temperatures.

By the way, my memory modules are badly mismatched. Two 512 MB and two 2 GB modules, all in Riser card A, for a total of 5 gibibytes. Matched pairs with the shipping version of Photoshop CS3 will probably run even faster.

[Rob Galbraith] Your readers might be interested in the quick performance comparison we've done between Photoshop CS2 and the Photoshop CS3 beta on a Mac Pro 3GHz. The performance tests are real-world examples of tasks that working photographers perform on a daily basis, tasks that complete much faster in CS3.

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/
https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/entitlement/index.cfm?e=labs%5Fphotoshop%5Fsn
http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-7901-8713

TZ
12-18-2006, 06:05 AM
A problem with Adobe's CS3 beta software-control system created some confusion for early testers:

[Jay Cowan] I downloaded Photoshop CS3 beta but when I entered my Adobe-registered Photoshop CS2 serial number the registration panel rejected it. A call to Adobe revealed that this is not uncommon; it's a bug. Adobe referred me to a Photoshop developer's blog website that should tell us when a fix is made to the beta. Meanwhile, I have to run it in demo mode.

[Follow-up]
The Photoshop CS3 beta was rejecting some legitimate Photoshop CS2 and Creative Suite CS2 owners' serial numbers. Adobe has now posted a "fix".

If your serial number does not work, first make sure your CS2 serial number is registered with Adobe by going to https://www.adobe.com/ and then clicking on "Your Account" at the top of the page.

Then go to this website, enter your CS2 serial number, login, and password, and a new webpage will show up with a custom serial number for CS3

If you've already started CS2 in 2-day demo mode, go to this menu:

Photoshop->Preferences->General

and enter the new custom serial number. Worked for me.

TZ
12-18-2006, 09:04 AM
December 15th -- Photoshop CS3 SPEED TESTS -- We ran two benchmarks on our Mac Pro 3GHz test unit. First we ran our six Multi-Processor Aware Actions on a 100MB test file. It ran 39% faster than CS2. Second, we ran the Retouch Artists Benchmark. In the first pass, it ran 64% faster than CS2. In the second pass, it ran 73% faster. Impressive!
www.barefeats.com

SHOOTOUT: Photoshop CS2 vs CS3 beta on High-End Mac
http://www.barefeats.com/quad16.html

Informal MacRumors.com benchmark testing was performed by various forum members with access to both Intel-based and PowerPC based systems and the beta Photoshop software using the RetouchArtists benchmarking test. These tests have shown significant improvement in Photoshop CS3 speeds vs. Photoshop CS2 speeds on Intel hardware. A few selected results are displayed for your convenience
(full results are in this story's thread) (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=261046) :

Model CS2 Time (s) CS3 Beta Time (s)
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz, 2GB RAM 62 36
Quad G5 2.5 GHz, 5GB RAM 36 36
Quad G5 2.5 GHz, 2GB RAM unavailable 42

Smaller time is better.

The 2.66 GHz Mac Pro showed a nearly 60% speedup by upgrading to the CS3 beta. However, PowerPC systems appear to have not felt any boost in speed, and at least one PowerPC user had speeds actually decrease when upgrading to the CS3 beta

Also, some preliminary tests on Mac Pro 2.66GHz 2GB RAM
www.xlr8yourmac.com

TZ
12-20-2006, 12:57 PM
Photoshop CS3 beta version and WOW, that really makes a huge difference.

Speed test results on download from
http://www.retouchartists.com/pages/speedtest.html

CS2

1GB RAM - over 4 minutes
with 5GB RAM - 1 minute 45 seconds

CS3 beta - 31 seconds!

TZ
12-26-2006, 12:09 PM
PhotoshopNews site (http://photoshopnews.com/2006/12/15/its-alive-photoshop-cs3-site-is-up/) forum, news, latest bugs

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/photoshopcs3/

TZ
12-27-2006, 11:28 AM
The Mac Pro and Photoshop CS3 (http://www.macworld.com/weblogs/editors/2006/12/mpupdate/index.php)
By Rob Griffiths

Last month, in the first part of my three-part report (parts two and three) on the new Mac Pro, I reported on Photoshopfs performance in Rosetta\both subjectively and objectively (on page three) via a test of the Liquify filter.

Ifve used this same test on other machines\both Windows XP and Macs\so itfs become my personal benchmark. And now that I have the Universal beta of Photoshop to use, I thought Ifd update my results for the Universal version. As you look at these results, please keep in mind theyfre my own personal handiwork, and not that of the Macworld Labs\here are the official benchmark results.

As background for those who havenft read the prior articles, I apply a 54MB saved Liquify mesh to the 3,000-by-2,400 pixel version of this image of a space shuttle launch. Itfs an intensive filter, and takes a meaningful amount of time to render, so any errors in my hand timing donft have a huge impact on the results.

And speaking of results, how did the Mac Pro running the CS3 beta do? Take a lookc

PHOTOSHOP LIQUIFY FILTER TEST
CPUs CPU Speed RAM Time (seconds)
Mac Pro - CS3 4 2.66GHz 2.0GB 14
Dual G5 - CS3 2 2.00GHz 2.5GB 25
Mac Pro - CS2 4 2.66GHz 2.0GB 27
Dual G5 - CS2 2 2.00GHz 2.5GB 28
Mini XP - CS2 2 1.66GHz 2.0GB 36
Athlon - CS2 1 2.12GHz 512MB 39
MacBook - CS2 2 2.00GHz 2.0GB 56
Mini OS X - CS2 2 1.66GHz 2.0GB 77
Testing by Rob Griffiths, very unofficial!

As you can see, the Mac Pro running the CS3 beta was nearly twice as fast as its nearest competitor, the Dual G5, also running the CS3 beta. From this simple experiment, it seems there was some general improvement in the Liquify filterfs performance (as noted by a three-second improvement on the Dual G5). But the big performance gain is obvious from the Mac Profs score\it ran this test basically twice as fast as it did under Rosetta.

Macworld Labs has the official Photoshopfs performance results, but from where I sit, itfs looking like the native version of Photoshop is going to run just fine on the Intel-powered Macs.

Boots
01-08-2007, 04:46 PM
Some preliminary PshopTest2.1 results and observations for CS3b. (http://www.macgurus.com/forums/showpost.php?p=106069&postcount=67)

wolfpweb
01-09-2007, 05:15 AM
All this is fine, thank U, but rather academic...
I mean, will I upgrade to a faster system just because CS3 will not do quite as well on older Macs..? Certainly not. I may add another gig of Ram to the current 2.5 on the G5, yes...
More of interest to me would be to hear of certain improvements in the sw... Nowhere have I seen anything about refined and/or simplified 'noise reduction', for example. The current app is rather cumbersome and performs somewhat poorly compared to various plug-ins.
It would be nice to hear from beta users about new or improved apps that are really smoking! Of course this here is a more tech related forum. I may have to go elsewhere. Any hints, please..?
Thanks.

Boots
01-09-2007, 08:59 AM
Sorry, I've become pretty myopic about Photoshop's performance relative to hardware in the basic areas of scratch disk performance, open & saves speed, and general processing performance. Haven't had time to actually play around with it much (CS3b that is)!

The Photoshop CS3 beta forum at Adobe Labs is quite lively. (http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/categories.cfm?forumid=72&catid=626&flcache=127673)
I've learned a lot by regularly browsing there, and of course also at the regular Adobe Photoshop Mac forum. (http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx/.ee6b362/)

wolfpweb
01-10-2007, 07:41 AM
Thanks, Mr. Boots...
Of course, those are informative websites. Very slow, however, despite my DSL.
May Ur boots keep on walkin'.

Boots
01-10-2007, 09:21 AM
The other thing I forgot to mention- lots of really good info on Photoshop developers John Nack (http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/) and Scott Byers (http://blogs.adobe.com/scottbyer/)' blogs.

speters1
01-12-2007, 09:50 AM
Boots, it sounds like the need for a fast scratch disc is going to be diminshed when using CS3?

Boots
01-12-2007, 11:22 AM
Boots, it sounds like the need for a fast scratch disc is going to be diminshed when using CS3?

Yes and no Steve.

* if you use a G5 or Mac Pro with at least OS 10.4.8
* if you work with smaller files (<512MB)
* install alot of RAM (4GB+)
* use a fast startup disk (Raptor or RAID0) with a majority of unused capacity
* maintain a modest History preference (20) with 1 Save state.

- then yes, the need for a fast second drive or RAID0 array just for scratch is minimized.

However, if you work with larger files and/or a larger History preference with Save states, and have limited capacity on the startup disk and/or not-so-fast hard drives, a fast independant scratch disk will definitely make an improvement- even more so the larger the image file is relative to the amount of installed RAM.

In general, this hasn't changed from CS2 or earlier versions of Photoshop. The more powerful computers get, the more people will work with larger and larger files.

I should say relative to the CS3 beta and PPC- some additional testing I've done yesterday and today is showing the OS caching of scratch data in RAM in systems with more than 4GB installed RAM is either not yet implemented in the beta or is broken.

kaye
03-07-2007, 06:44 AM
Do I have this correct? When Photoshop CS3 ships, it will have:
1. Bigger Tiles plugin
2. VM buffering enabled (caching of scratch disk data in RAM)
3. Until Leopard is installed, there will be no fix for the Mac OSX virtual memory 'pause' bug
4. Pshop CS3 and Leopard will provide a speed bump even for my DP G5
5. How about Pshop CS3 and Tiger, still a speed bump?
6. Anything else to consider? k

TZ
03-08-2007, 05:52 AM
Adobe announced (http://www.macrumors.com/c.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.adobe.com%2Fproducts%2Fph otoshop%2Fps_psext_info.html&t=1173358202) that their spring release of Adobe Photoshop CS3 will bring a new "Extended" edition aimed at 3D and video professionals. Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended will include all the features of the standard version, but also incorporate several new features:Render and incorporate 3D images into your 2D composites. Stop time with easy editing of motion graphics on video layers. And probe your images with measurement, analysis, and visualization tools.

Mac customers, in particular, have been waiting for Adobe Photoshop CS3 as it represents the first version of Photoshop that will run natively (at full speed) on Apple's Intel Macs. A beta version (http://www.macrumors.com/2006/12/14/adobe-announces-photoshop-cs3-beta/) of CS3 has been available since December.

Adobe is offering a FAQ (pdf) (http://www.macrumors.com/c.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.adobe.com%2Fproducts%2Fph otoshop%2Fpdfs%2Fpscs3_faq.pdf&t=1173358202) about the new Extended edition. No pricing announcements have been made yet, but the release has been reported to be on March 27th (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/03/05/adobe-to-ship-cs3-march-27th/) at a special event in New York.

TZ
03-16-2007, 05:51 AM
Adobe released the first final candidate-equivalent build of Illustrator CS3 to its close inner circle of testers earlier this week, paving the way for an expected release just weeks away, sources report.

Like Photoshop CS3 and the rest of Adobe's Creative Suite 3 applications, Illustrator CS3 is slated to be formally announced on March 27. Adobe has said only that the new applications will ship in Spring 2007, but sources expect work on Illustrator CS3 to be wrapped up by the end of April.

Despite its hefty size—the latest Illustrator CS3 build is said to be about a 1.2GB download—Illustrator CS3 will deliver substantial performance benefits over its predecessor, both on Intel-based Macs where the software will run native for the first time and on PowerPC systems.

Other improvements in Illustrator CS3 include a powerful new color selection and management tool called Live Color and tighter integration with Adobe's new version of Flash

TZ
04-11-2007, 10:35 AM
ADOBE CREATIVE SUITE 3 - MAY WE CALL IT BLOATWARE? (http://www.it-enquirer.com/main/ite/more/cs3/)
Created: April 11, 2007
By:
Erik Vlietinck

After having spent three weeks with the entire Creative Suite 3 for Web and Print Production, there is no longer any sense in denying it: much of CS3 is hypeware. InDesign CS3 is a disappointment, Photoshop CS3 Extended will appeal especially to scientists and medical users but there’s little to entice photographers.

TZ
04-16-2007, 10:20 AM
An early comment from a Mac Pro owner:
"2 things right away. (1) I LOVE the new clone source feature, since I do a lot of retouching. I didn't bother with the beta since the tools/brushes weren't visible. (2) I opened a 330 MB, 49 layer file of an old map I'm working on for a client in both versions, each after a restart. In CS2, it took 34 seconds; in CS3 it took 8 seconds. I know this is probably not indicative of overall speed improvements, but so far I'm very pleased."

kaye
04-22-2007, 10:09 AM
Anybody received Photoshop CS3. I ordered it awhile back (not the extended version) and Amazon said I should receive it on or about April 25th. Yesterday I received an email that indicated "about" is now May 12-19. k

TZ
04-23-2007, 07:51 AM
Installation of Photoshop CS3 fails if any remnants of the Photoshop CS3 Beta are present on the target volume. Installation may also fail for other reasons, including presence of CS2 applications and more.

Previously reported solutions include running the CS3 clean-up script, manually removing all pertinent files and creating a new administrator account with which to install Photoshop CS3.

It now appears that users may also need to clear caches -- after removing all vestiges of the CS3 beta -- with one of many popular utilities (such as Tiger Cache Cleaner) before proper installation of retail Photoshop CS3 can occur.

MacFixIt reader Gary Coyne writes:

"In the Tabbed selection on Tiger Cache Cleaner, select the Caches tab, select 'Medium Cleaning,' and check all three options of 'Clean Local Cache,' 'Clean System Cache,' and "'lean All Users Caches.' After a restart, the recalcitrant program will be officially removed from your system and you can then install all of the CS3 programs."

Photoshop CS3 (#4): Beta may not have to be deactivated; Installation problems (cont.): caches may need to be cleared; more. (http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20070420114145372)

kaye
04-23-2007, 05:35 PM
Another email today that Photoshop CS3 shipped with a UPS tracking number. Guess the previous email was a glitch. k

TZ
05-18-2007, 06:34 AM
Installation of Adobe CS3 component (Version Cue) can disable Mac OS X firewall (http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20070517083422529)

For some time now we've been following an issue where Adobe CS3 installation turns off the Mac OS X Firewall and turns on TCP access to ports 3703, 3704, 50900 and 50901 without notifying the user

As noted by readers of the Web site MacInTouch (http://www.macintouch.com/readerreports/applications/index.html#may14), Version Cue is the culpable component in turning off the firewall. One user tested this by deselecting "VersionCue Server" when installing CS3, resulting in Firewall settings being unchanged.

This issue has now been identified a security flaw by research firm Secunia, installation of Adobe Creative Suite 3.0 -- specifically the Version Cue component -- can result in the Mac OS X firewall being disabled.

The Secunia advisory states:

"During installation on a Mac system, the application disables the Mac OS X personal firewall to set up certain ports to allow controlled access through the firewall service. The problem is that the firewall is not re-enabled once the setup is finished. This may leave certain system services open to attacks."

The simple solution is to re-enable the Mac OS X firewall if it has been disabled by CS3 installation. This can be accomplished via the following steps:

Open System Preferences
Click on the Sharing pane
Click on the Firewall tab
Click the Start button under Firewall (On/Off)

TZ
05-22-2007, 02:04 PM
Adobe Customer Service then
Tech Support
then engineering
a phone call from Tech Support

and finally...

... the ForceVMBuffering plug (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=3623) is available online for PS CS3

TZ
06-22-2007, 08:44 AM
Adobe released Illustrator CS3 13.0.1, the first update to the CS3 version of its vector illustration program. This release "addresses issues related to overall performance and reliability in several key areas, including fixes for LiveColor, PSD file import, Chinese IME, printing, graphic styles, color management, transparency, and Live Effects.

kaye
07-15-2007, 08:28 AM
Download and instructions here:
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/apsb07-13.html

With Pshop CS3, I did the auto update from with the application which worked just fine.

With CS2 there is no update within the application or at least was not yesterday, four days after the release. So followed the instructions which are confusing to say the least (emphasis added to incorrect instructions):

"Manual update instructions for Photoshop CS2 and Photoshop CS3 Macintosh:

1. Download the updated file ps_security_update.dmg
2. Exit Photoshop CS2 and/or CS3.
3. In the Finder, navigate to the following location(s):
* For CS3: Applications//Adobe Photoshop CS3/Plug-Ins/File Formats
* For CS2: BMP & TARGA: Applications/Adobe Photoshop CS3/Plug-Ins/File Formats; PNG: Applications/Adobe Photoshop CS2/Plug-Ins/Adobe Photoshop Only/File Formats
4. Move the existing plug-ins to another location (for example, a new folder on your desktop). Ensure you keep these original versions in case you need to revert back.
5. Copy the BMP, PNG, and Targa plug-ins from the download into the same folder as in Step 3.
6. Launch Photoshop CS2 or Photoshop CS3."

If you only have CS2, how would you navigate to the CS3 application? Give me a break Adobe. And why no auto update from within the CS2 application? I did the manual update for CS2. k

Boots
07-16-2007, 04:40 PM
Thanks Kaye.
They need better writers in that department! :rolleyes:

kaye
11-16-2007, 08:46 AM
New version 10.0.1 for Photoshop CS3. Downloaded it and a bunch of other stuff via Photoshop CS3 application updater which is Adobe Updater. I have run the application since the update and everything is in place. This is in Tiger.

Need to try the Pshop Test later. k

Boots
11-16-2007, 03:33 PM
Here is some important info about changes to printing in 10.0.1:

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/docs/PhotoshopCS3PrintingNotes.pdf

Requires updating to 10.0.1, deleting Photoshop prefs, deleting existing printers, adding your printers back.

There appear to be some improvements to Bridge 2 as well.

Boots
01-06-2008, 06:53 AM
Some dry "under the hood" Photoshop/Bridge CS3 temp file structure...
(PM G5 Quad, PSCS3 10.0.1, Mac OS 10.4.11 build 8S165)

PS CS3 makes a "PhotoshopTempxxxxx" (the scratch file) at either /.private/var/tmp/folders.501/Cleanup At Startup or ~/Library/Caches/Cleanup At Startup when the first scratch disk is pointed at the Startup disk.

It prefers the "folders.501" location but if it doesn't exist when opening Photoshop, then the "Cleanup At Startup" folder is created in the user library "Caches" folder when opening Photoshop.

In addition, Photoshop sometimes (but not always) makes another cache folder called "Adobe Photoshop CS3" in the user library "Caches" folder. Not sure why this folder is created or when. On my system it was .5MB and after deleting manually, it did not reappear when I re-opened Photoshop.

In addition, Bridge 2 appears to use a similar caching scheme. When you open it, It makes a "PhotoshopTempxxxxx" file (which looks just like Photoshop's) at either /.private/var/tmp/folders.501/Cleanup At Startup or ~/Library/Caches/Cleanup. Like Photoshop, It prefers the "folders.501" location but if it doesn't exist when opening Bridge, then the "Cleanup At Startup" folder is created in the user library "Caches" folder.

Normally, a logout/login or restart will re-create a missing /.private/var/tmp/folders.501/ folder.

If both Photoshop and Bridge are open at the same time, two "PhotoshopTempxxxxx" files exist at the same time- but Bridge's much smaller temp file is always created on the Startup disk regardless of Photoshop's scratch file location. On my system, the Bridge "PhotoshopTempxxxxx" file was 75MB; the Photoshop scratch file was 850MB (I use a lot of History states).

Normally, those "PhotoshopTempxxxxx" files disappear immediately when those apps are quit. Such was not the case with the contents of the "Adobe Photoshop CS3" cache folder or the other Adobe folders located at ~/Library/Caches.

Altogether, they are maintaining 2GB of cache files (mostly Camera Raw and Bridge) without any Adobe apps open...

kaye
02-14-2008, 10:03 AM
Yesterday I launched Photoshop CS3 in 10.4.11 to see if there were any updates to apply via the Adobe Updater.

Three updates 121MB:
1. Adobe Reader 8.1.2
2. Flash Lite 3 update for Device Central CS3
3. ExtendScript Toolkit 2.0.2
What the heck are 2 and 3?

The Adobe Updater does its download then proceeds to install. This is another of those Be Patient, #2 in particular. The installer progress thermometer bar appears to stall for quite awhile. The other 2 items go pretty fast.

In Leopard 10.5.2, same three updates but 107.9MB, both my primary Leopard drive and my internal backup. Same apparent stall on #2. k