PDA

View Full Version : Best Set Up for a MacPro and Photoshop

ftonelli
10-20-2006, 12:00 PM
Hi MacGurus,

I finally decided to retire my faithful G4 Dual 1.25Ghz and buy a MacPro.

In the past several months, thanks to you, I had achieved some improvements by adding two SATA drives and separating Users from the OS.
But I need more speed.

I am a photographer and work with 22Mpix files, normally with several adjustment layers, which brings them to about 350MB when closed and 900MB when opened.
I have my OS on a 70GB Raptor 10,000RPM and my user folder on a 250GB Hitachi 7200RPM. Scratch for CS2 is pointed back at the OS disk (the Raptor).
I keep the images I currently work on in the Hitachi user disk.

It takes FOREVER to open and to save.

So I am going with a MacPro and try to make things work better.

Needless to say, I am trying to maximize the performance with the smartes investment of money. Here is my idea for your review and suggestions:

- Buy a MacPro Quad 2.66Ghz Intel Xeon = $2499

- Add two 2Gb modules of RAM to take it to 5GB = $ 985

- Transfer my Raptor and my Hitachi from my G4 and keep them set as they are (Raptor = OS, Hitachi = Users)

- Keep the 250 HD that comes with the MacPro for internal back-ups and as a maintenance start up disk.
(For now I archive my work on two LaCie 500GB FW800. As soon as I can I will switch to SATA enclosures.)

- Set up an external RAID 0 with two MacGurus Hitachi 250 7200 in a SATA tower to use only for images I currently work on in Photoshop CS2 to minimize opening and save time.

- Set up a second RAID 0 with two MacGurus Hitachi 250 7200 in a SATA tower to use as a Photoshop scratch disk only.

Cost of the two RAID 0 + 4 Bay PM Enclosure = $ 819

- Maybe get the ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB (2 x dual-link DVI) [Add $250] for the MacPro, instead of the NVIDIA GeForce GT 256MB. But I am not sure if this is a good idea.

Does anyone have experience with the benefit of such a set up?