PDA

View Full Version : mac pro buying advice needed

Mike S
09-17-2006, 03:50 PM
I am a photographer using photoshop a lot with a G4 and am now considering
buying a mac pro.
Should I buy now or wait for the new processor Clovertown? I have a lot of images to process and the time it takes is killing me. I don't know if putting up with the torture for a new processor is worth it.
Should I use the video card that comes with the mac pro or buy a different one. I hear that a good video card is important for photoshop and I know nothing about video cards.
Thanks for any help.
Mike

TZ
09-17-2006, 04:43 PM
Unless things have changed in the last year,

I have a G4 sawtooth with a Rage 128 vga card running Panther. I am running a sony 17" monitor now and have just bought a Dell 2005FPW. I would like to run both monitors with seperate cards for...

I would not hesitate. I also wouldn't worry about CS3 or whether having 8 cores will help (http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com/ubb/Forum32/HTML/000339.html) - total speculation, and it would mean software optimizations to take advantage, or even if Apple will use them. The Pro's 4 cores will clearly help from where you are today by a huge margin.

I would save money and not fret or worry, $250 on video? better spent on the RAM that you will need. And on some SATA disk drives.

Mac Pro 2.66GHz with 4-5GB RAM and disk drives.

I am very pleased, waited a long time for something like this, though I don't use Photoshop but these people do (http://discussions.apple.com/search.jspa?objID=c194&search=Go&q=photoshop) and Barefeats (and others) have done some preliminary tests.

unclemac
09-17-2006, 04:54 PM
And, it is highly likely that at some point in the future you can buy the latest greatest CPU for a song and drop 'em in yourself. No doubt you saw on the web someone has already dropped some early Clovertowns in a MacPro and it booted right up.....so we know it is doable.

Get your MacPro now and upgrade it yourself later.

Boots