PDA

View Full Version : Help using Canon PowerShot A620



TZ
07-17-2006, 08:16 AM
I have been wanting to do this ever since digital cameras came out but never felt the price/features were quite there yet. Changed my mind when I saw Canon had 7.1MP for $225.

So far I've found auto for most things works great. I installed Canon software which then had to be upgraded for Tiger (35MB) but probably didn't need either. Should have tried with just Image Capture and set another program like GraphicConverter to download images and for manipulation.

I've ordered Crucial SD memory card, an AC adapter, NiMH battery charger etc.

One of the things that sounded good was picture stabilization.

The only 'weakness' with the camera is the plastic flap over the USB/AC connectors. Everything else is solid, well-built, but not this little door. Why didn't they use the same type door as for SD memory card?

There are a lot of little icon/buttons for adjusting the lens and camera operation (some of which are hard to discern) and then there are more on the LCD.

It is very impressive and nice camera. When I came back from 'Nam everyone was a Nikon buff. Too bad we didn't have a way to send digital photos and video clips.

Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000AYJDD6/)
Canon A620 (http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelDetailAct&fcategoryid=145&modelid=12072)
Canon Digital Cameras (http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ProductCatIndexAct&fcategoryid=113)

kaye
07-17-2006, 09:08 AM
Looks like a great camera, a lot more features and capability than my A40 or A75. A great article http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/canon/powershot_a620-review/index.shtml as a starting point that may answer a lot of questions. Both my A40 and A75 were on that site and the reviews helped me a lot. I was totally stupid when I got the A40 and a little more knowledgeable with the A75 except it had more features that had to be learned. Both cameras are set for 1600x1200 and Auto for the wife.

The A40 I have to touch up almost all of the photos either in iPhoto or Pshop. Colors often are dull, lack vividness. Sometimes the wife fails to push the shutter part way first so that the camera can set focus. So I have to sharpen the image unless the photo is the same distance. The A75 is much better with colors, almost never a need to touch up. The focus still can be a problem failing to push the button part way first.

I would get a FW400 card reader if there is one for SD/MMC cards. There should be. Maybe SanDisk. My SanDisk FW400 works great. My Lexar FW400, something has just appeared, don't yet know what the problem is but I may have to return it. Still experimenting. Both were recommended at BareFeats. Very important as Rob-ART says to get the proper models. Earlier models don't work as well. They are for CF tho. Take a look at the link review. If more questions, let us know. k

kaye
07-17-2006, 09:42 AM
Another review http://www.steves-digicams.com/2005_reviews/a620.html and Steve has reviews of SD card readers, all USB. One he likes very much http://www.steves-digicams.com/2002_reviews/sandisk_6in1.html and probably a later 6 in 1 or 8 in 1 now. k

TZ
07-18-2006, 05:20 AM
hey, those are great reviews. Canon should link to 'em and probably have them do their manual.

Amazing how many features can be enabled, and from the computer side via software, too. I feel lost with all those icons and buttons and sortof afraid I'll mess it up. So far, auto has been fine.

100% reproducable freeze if I let the system sleep and then later try to connect camera to download photos. Why is that? Goes to my rants about OS X and Apple - and whether Apple spells out how to write an interface that works? I knew USB card readers were often mentioned as a problem, thought it was just that they had to be disconnected to allow deep sleep.

I guess asking for things to work the way they are 'suppose to' is too much.

kaye
07-18-2006, 06:44 AM
100% reproducable freeze if I let the system sleep and then later try to connect camera to download photos. Why is that?I don't have a clue, maybe someone else does. I never connect the camera to either the G4 or G5, only connect via a card reader. There is a technique for that too so that you don't possibly hose the data on the flash card. My reason to not connect the camera is so that I'm not using its battery power.

You just have to try the camera. I had a very hard time getting the wife to use the A40. Afraid to take it with her and drop or lose it. Afraid to take too many pics and on and on. Once she got over all that, it became an Uzi. The A40 was a learning experience for me too, particularly closeups, when to use the flash and when not and so forth, and how to prepare them for the web. I used the A40 dcresource and Steve's review extensively until I got the hang of everything. I have to use a magnifying glass to read the manual for the A40 or A75. k