PDA

View Full Version : PANTONE Huey

kaye
05-06-2006, 12:00 PM
Anyone tried one of these (http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=4079302) or for that matter the two more expensive models? Just trying to get an idea how well they work on an LCD or CRT. k

Macaholic
05-06-2006, 09:29 PM
Hello Kaye,
I have no experience with the software, but the price looks good compared
to other monitor calibration systems.
I hope somebody jumps in with a report.

Dave

kaye
05-25-2006, 06:56 AM
Dave,

I gave up waiting for a Member's report on the Huey and ordered one from B&H Photo (where I get all of my Adobe apps and upgrades). Going to try it out this weekend. k

eric
05-25-2006, 09:31 AM
Sorry about that kaye. Been away.

I've got a Colorvision Spyder 2 Pro, pricey. But works great. In the US seems to go under just Colorvision, but in Europe typically under Pantone. Whatever....it works

Willc73
05-25-2006, 12:16 PM
I have used quite a few monitor calibration tools, Pantone makes a good product, however my experience has been, the cheaper software hardware combos never do much good. They might give you some other controls, but if you need to be calibrated, you need a professional system.

kaye
05-25-2006, 09:09 PM
Saw the one eric. About twice as much as the Huey. I'll try that if I'm not satisfied with Huey.

Willc73, I was afraid of that but just updated and sent to Rick new animated gifs for the forums home page and BareFeats. That got me to thinking that I need better calibration but I'm not a pro user.

Thanks to you both. k

Macaholic
05-26-2006, 12:57 AM
Hello Kaye,
I looked all over for a review... & found nothing.
Hope it works out satisfactory for you.
animated gifs??? sounds like fun.
You have a gift for such.
If I recall correctly you created the "new" Mac-gurus header...
Best wishes,
Dave

kaye
05-27-2006, 12:57 PM
Oh man, I love this huey. Comes with:
1. huey colorimeter
2. Desktop cradle
3. USB extension cable