PDA

View Full Version : Photographer's G5 config & backup strategy

mhvik
04-02-2006, 11:22 PM
I'm posting because everyone seems to recommend MacGurus. I have a dilema which I know is not unique, but I haven't found many great answers elsewhere. So here goes:

As a working professional photographer I shoot 63.5 Mb RAW files using Capture One software. I don't shoot a huge number of files for each job, but enough to make me have storage concerns. I keep track of current and old assignments using iView Media Pro. I use Photoshop for light retouching, and I save the final files in layered TIFF's. After an assignment, I move the Capture One session folder with all of the original RAW files and final TIFF's to an external drive. Those drives are backed-up by a simple drag n' drop method to a duplicate drive.

One big problem is that I've been relying on external LaCie 250 d2 drives for the inactive/completed assignments. I've been learning about LaCie reliability the hard way, as 3 of my 8 d2 drives has either failed or is failing.

As I grow into a new workflow of file management, it seems that I need to find a better solution. I've read about RAID, large FireWire devices, NAS, and eSATA (like the Burly). I'm just not sure what my best approach is here.

I need a way of accessing old assignments a few times each week, but I don't necessarilly need constant access to those files. I'd like the solution to include one device or box, so I don't have to keep plugging and unplugging external HD's. I have been leaning towards the MacGurus Burly setup because it seems like a RAID would offer some protection, and the eSATA might give me a fast enough connection for a good PS scratch disk.