PDA

View Full Version : 6-10gb ram for Quad?



speters1
02-08-2006, 03:25 AM
I just ordered as new Quad and I am just trying to figure out how much ram I should get. I planned on getting at least 6gb, but I know that there is a benefit from moving from 4gb ram 6gb of ram, but would there be any benefit from moving from 6 to 8 or even 10gb or ram? I am talking about working on files that are between 800mb to 2gb.

Boots
02-09-2006, 08:34 AM
Steve, there is additional benefit to installing 8GB RAM instead of 6GB- and with your file sizes, I would consider installing 12GB or more- especially if you generate large scratch files in your work. CS2 will use that extra installed RAM above 4GB to cache scratch disk data in RAM before writing it to disk.

I don't yet have PshopTest comparison data for the Quad above 4.5GB installed RAM, but I would assume a similar result when we did this with the G5 Dual 2GHz PCI and the G5 Dual 2.7GHz PCI computers. With 8GB installed RAM you could watch in Activity Monitor how all 8GB was used when larger files were tested.

speters1
02-09-2006, 09:51 PM
I just ordered 8gb of ram from you guys, 8x1gb. If I where to go ahead and order 2 x x2gb, so that I could put 10gb in my Quad and I found out that there was not that much of an improvement over 8, could I then return those 2gb dimms?

TZ
02-10-2006, 08:19 AM
I think you should take that up with the Store but my own personal take would be, sell them on your own. I was going to suggest that you just buy 2GB DIMMs (2 x 2GB) sets from the start. I figure you'd eventually want 12GB anyway.

And yes, the difference between 8 and 10 is small (diminishing returns somewhat) but the differences between 6GB you have been using? and 16GB should prove itself.

The other question, what PCIe cards for scratch disks. UL5D, etc.

speters1
02-10-2006, 09:15 PM
I plan on getting the ATTO UL5D. I thought that was the only one available?

TZ
02-11-2006, 11:15 AM
I was speaking about SATA controllers also for PCIe. Those 150GB Raptors are expensive, iffy for now possibly (question about large 20GB+ files? and SSC stuff) but look to be very very fast.