PDA

View Full Version : 250HD and 400HD is bigger better and more reliable?

Fiona
11-20-2005, 11:15 AM
Hello cool smart helpful gurus,

I am a loyal guru fan with my tricked out 2.5Ghz G5, with 4.5G of RAM, with one Raptor Drive for my applications and another 250 Partitioned internal HD and a Hot Swap SATA running 4 Seagate 250 Drives (thanks Rick for answering a million questions).

I am a pro photographer and I do a lot of retouching/photoshop work so I have tried to memorize the photoshop acceleration article....

I have two questions am I an idiot for making one of my 250G SATA Drives a scratch disk? When I bought my SATA enclosure I thought that I would partition one drive for scratch until I realized that partitioning would make it run slower. But how much does a PS scratch disk really need? And would speed make a difference?

Should I buy perhaps another WD Raptor drive for a speedy scratch disk and then buy perhaps a bigger 400 Seagate Drive for more data storage?

Are bigger HDs more prone to problems because there is more Gigs in there? Or are the 250 Drives more reliable and I should just stick with buying more of these puppies.

I guess I do not want to feel like I am wasting one of my SATA HDs for Scratch. Would a firewire Hard Drive be just as fast as a Scratch?

My guess would be no, because the SATA drives kick so much butt for working off of.

Anyway, I have got the tools, I just want to know if I can optimize them better.

Cheers,
Fiona
(wannabe mac guru)

Nicolas
11-20-2005, 12:02 PM
Hi Fiona,

some PS users here are using two Raptors in a stripe RAID0 as system or as scratch to gain more performance.

If you want to RAID0 your System/Bootdrive then do your backups!

With SoftRaid you can RAID volumes not only entire drives like with DiskUtility.

A fast scratch can realy speed up PS.

Regards

Nicolas

TZ
11-20-2005, 12:08 PM