PDA

View Full Version : Capture One Pro setup suggestions?

catfell
11-07-2005, 10:58 AM
Anyone out there using Capture One Pro with a G5?

I'm looking to replace my 933G4 quicksilver with a new G5 desktop, and wanted to find out if there are any minimums or mods I should perform immediately?

I'm a professional photographer who processes a fair amount of D2X nef files.

I use the following software:

20% Photo Mechanic for renaming, editing and laying down IPTC info.
70% Capture One Pro for image correction and general processing.
5% Photoshop CS2 if there is anything that needs fixing after processing.

There is a wealth of Photoshop info on this board, but haven't seen much about Capture One Pro.

I was considering figuring out how to put three separate sata drives in the new machine and putting the system, home and scratch on the three separate drives. But if this setup only helps photoshop, I might not bother with the third drive and just keep my system and scratch on the same drive and put the users on the second internal sata.

All my external storage is on external FW drives, and I don't think I can afford a RAID5 setup yet.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

-catfell

catfell
11-07-2005, 01:38 PM
One more thing...

I've posted this on Capture One's forums and haven't heard from anyone, so I thought I would give you guys a try.

Anyone know if Capture One Pro takes advantage of dual processors or not?

-catfell

Nicolas
11-07-2005, 04:26 PM
Hello,

maybe Aperture (http://www.apple.com/aperture/) is an alternative?

Regards

Nicolas

kaye
11-07-2005, 06:32 PM
catfell,

I don't have the software but according to this (http://www.phaseone.com/Content/Software/TipsTricks/DualProcessing.aspx) it supports dual processors. k

catfell
11-08-2005, 12:14 AM
Kaye-

Thank you for finding that last link.