PDA

View Full Version : MDD G4 CS2 upgrade

xoshooter
09-28-2005, 02:01 PM
I am a wedding photographer shooting with a raw workflow. I regularly come home with 12-17gb of raw files. I burn these to dvds and backup to harddrive. I need to upgrade somethings and not afraid to 'go inside'. I do not have the $$$ for a g5 so the MDD g4/dual 867 has to do for now.

Here are my needs:

1. storage - thinking some form of hotswappable external drive but do not know difference bet. sata, esata, scsi, fw400/800 etc. Once I am done editing and batch processing I rarely ever access the files beyond 6months.

2. Speed/optimizing my current system for ps cs2 batch processing/bridge browsing/editing.

I was considering the dual burly thing but got confused with the sata, ide, fw800 stuff and could not find easy answers distinguishing them. Thought a hot swappable system would work for long term/near term storage $4$.

Next I was thinking of replacing the original apple shipped drive withsomething faster and separating the system from the user files but again got confused and could not find easy answers on how to do this and keep permissions/passwords integrity.I already recently added an internal 120 gb seagate bc drive being told it is the largest i could add and partitioned this in half dedicating one half for ps scratch only. Initially i put it in the front bay but the system crawled and then moved it to the back next the the original and it appeared to operate normally. There is no master or slave set.

I feel like I know just enough to really bring my system down instead of up. I once tried moving all my user files off of the main drive and pretty much nearly lost everything thinking this would speed everything up but I guess i did not do it correctly. there were no real instructions/procedures to follow except 'separate' your user files to speed things up so that is what i did. did not know I would screw up my permissions, etc.