PDA

View Full Version : difficulty printing .ai's with raw text



scarwig
07-18-2005, 03:51 PM
If a user of mine tries to print a particular .ai with un-rasterized text, the job never makes it to the 9500. If the image is flattened it prints fine. if it is saved to .pdf it prints fine. Also, other .ai's can be printed WITH the raw text from this same machine. (They print a ton of drafts and extra step for each draft would be a pain for them :rolleyes: )

this same file can be opened and printed without any problem from other machines in the dept on the same version of CS (1) and os (10.3.8).

it has been suggested that its a font issue but I'm not too sure. Could it be that i'm overlooking something?

Thanks

unclemac
07-18-2005, 03:54 PM
Is that you jerky? :p

scarwig
07-18-2005, 03:59 PM
yes it is I, he, who is me.

NBG

unclemac
07-18-2005, 04:02 PM
Sorry all, just messin' with my coworker.

This is a tough one though....not quite sure what to make of it. Any graphics/printer Gurus out there? How about Nic?

PS: The 9500 is an HP 9500 Color Laser (http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF06b/18972-236251-236268-15077-f58-85318-85323-85324.html).

almaink
07-19-2005, 07:00 AM
Are all Macs using the same PPD file?

scarwig
07-19-2005, 08:36 AM
all the machines in this dept are on the same ppd.

I'm becoming more suspicious of the text that was copied and pasted from a word doc (insert microsoft slam here)

From what i gather there has been permissions issues on fonts on this same machine in the past, but they look to be in order on these particular fonts. hmm i say, hmmmmm

TZ
07-19-2005, 08:47 AM
HP printer drivers seem to get a lot of feedback on MacFixit and MacIntouch (google both). Fonts, too, are legion in causing problems, even Classic system folder may have something that conflicts.

I would try a test - clone the system first, then remove fonts and printer drivers fully (3rd party that you don't use or aren't native) and / or reinstall the full OS X (10.3.9 or 10.4.2) and then add what you have to have to work. Repairing Permissions should be done before and after installing anything.