PDA

View Full Version : Network Storage Question

gabriel215
05-16-2005, 09:38 AM
Not exactly sure where this post should go, but I think that it is semi-server related.

Heres the deal:

In the future I will hopefully be acquiring a G5. Right now I have a G4 533 DA, 1Ghz PB G4 Ti, and a 933 ibook. What I want to do is have the ability to connect them all to a NAS which will have at least 4 drives or 1.6tb. I am looking for speed but that is not the main concern. I don't think i need to raid, but am not sure. The NAS will just be backup of movies, audio, video, etc. I want the backup (from G5) to occur regularly with dantz or some other program.

My main problems are:

What case, preferably rackmounted, can host 4 drives and has ethernet connect?
Do I need a switch/router of some sort, if so which one?
Can i use any server case? or pc case?

This is only the tip of the iceberg. I am new to all of this so please be kind if am asking rudimentary questions. Any advice would help. At this point I am quite confused.

On last note. Basically, I was going to get a burly 4drive FW800 case and call it a day. Is that all I need? Will the FW800 be fast spread over 4 comps? How can I connect 4 comps? Anyway, that is all. Thank you in advance.

gabriel215

rwm
05-16-2005, 06:12 PM
I am going to let some others answer this. They work with these types of things daily. But a good 8 port Gig router and they should have faster ideas/options than firewire 400.

Hang in here. ;) - Randy

unclemac
05-17-2005, 07:42 PM
Howdy,

Short on time, so a couple quick thoughts.

As far as a rack mount Mac with 4 drives, five ways to go:

1) A G4 Xserve: can hold 4 ATA drives, up to 400 Gigs each. Not in production, so have to hunt up a used one, and probably still not that cheap. The drive sleds are very pricey, so if you want one that only has say two live drive trays, and two blank comsetic covers, watch out on price.