PDA

View Full Version : VHS to DVD advice please.

biggles
02-15-2005, 10:47 AM
What is the best way to transcribe a large number of VHS movie tapes to DVD?

Is it worth it?

The tapes aren't mine, I'm not that big a movie fan, but storage space is at a premium and the tapes do take up a lot of room.

I am assuming the worst and suppose this has to be done in real time. Please someone, tell me it ain't so!

kaye
02-15-2005, 12:05 PM
biggles,

I almost hesitate to respond because I am no pro level videophile. But here goes since you have a DP G5 with a fast SuperDrive.

How many is a large number? And how long are they in general? It can be worth it if short in length because you can combine them in iMovie and burn in iDVD. DVDs will last longer than tapes.

To transcribe you need a converter, either PCI card or standalone box, which I prefer with a power supply. PCI card means it is competing with other cards for bandwidth. PS because the conversion from analog VHS tape to digital output via long FW400 connector to your Mac is just better with a PS than with the mobo FW bus supplying power to the converter.

I don't think I would want to do it if there are a lot of tapes and long length just to save the SuperDrive.

As far as I know, yes real time. Maybe someone with more experience has a better way. k

biggles
02-15-2005, 01:09 PM
How many tapes? I haven't counted, maybe a hundred! Most are feature length movies. A standalone box would make sense if I get persuaded to go down this road, which is not a sure thing. Kaye, would you make an opening suggestion for a standalone? That would get me pointed in the right direction anyway.

kaye
02-15-2005, 03:27 PM