PDA

View Full Version : FCP to IDVD burning

Lemur
09-05-2004, 07:44 AM
I have just finished editing a project in Finalcut Pro 3 in OS9 and want to burn it to a dvd in idvd 4 in Panther. I'm new to that process and was wondering if anyone could provide me with some info on what the best way is to export the footage from FCP so it's ready to be used in idvd. Someone told me to get a program called "cleaner" to make the footage mpeg2. Is this necessary or can I do that from Finalcut or idvd? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,

- Lemur

TZ
09-05-2004, 10:10 AM
I just looked up "cleaner' and the comments on Version Tracker were less than stellar.

Not my area, but I'd think FCP and/or iDVD would be robust enough to import and let you make any changes needed. Assuming you had the latest QT for OS 9 also.

despaxas
09-07-2004, 10:13 AM
When you are done with your project in FCP, export as a Final Cut Pro movie under the File menu. A window will appear with options such as Highest Quality, Audio + Video, etc. At the bottom deselect the "Make Movie Self Contained" option*. This will make a small file of your finished project that "points" to the original captured video to save drive space (and time). Then boot into Panther and drag the FCP file into an iDVD project menu and it will compress it to MPEG2 when it starts the burning process. It will take a few hours, but iDVD actually looks pretty good.

*also deselect "Re-compress All Frames" if it is selected.

Just my opinion, but Cleaner is twitchy and when it does work, it's very slow. It has a lot of options, though, so some people like it. The MPEG2 encoder with DVD Studio Pro 2 and higher is superb though. It's stable, fast, beautiful and can directly be used with any QT compatible app.

Lemur
09-07-2004, 07:59 PM
Thanks guys,