PDA

View Full Version : U160 RAID in a 9600?

TaxiDriver
02-23-2002, 02:08 PM
Someone wrote in to another board with a question about putting in U160 LVD 18GB Cheetahs in a 9600, and I suggested that he ask here for opinions and guidance. Thinking that it might be faster, I'm posting here for him instead.

So, would it be better to get another mobo that supports faster speeds (thinking B&W G3 at least), or is the situation salvageable with U160s, as opposed to something more U2W-ish?

Your thoughts?

TaxiDriver
02-23-2002, 03:48 PM
Here is his question, put to you:

Here is the orginal posting on another forum. Does anyone have answers for these questions:

I'm new to LVD SCSI, but bought three 10K 18Gig IBM 160 LVD drives cheap. Want to install in my PM9600 (upgraded to a G4). Here's what I think I need to do, but how to do it CHEAPLY?

1) I need a LVD terminator to put at the end of the ribbon. Right? Where to get one cheap? Granite seems so steep in price.

2) Need an LVD 160 acceleration card. Have simple UW ATTO and Adaptec cards already, but not 160LVD. Where to get cheap? (And does the card say LVD160 on it or something else like SCSI3 or what?)

3) Do I really need a new ribbon cable? I have very high quality ones from the UW setup. If so, where to get cheap?

4) Or should I just run these drives off my old UW cards due to performance bottlenecks? But I still need numbers 1 and 2 and 3? Or do I?

Thanks to anyone who is a LVD guru, since it's all a brave new world to me.

chrismenke
02-23-2002, 04:57 PM
The thing with Granite, its a time/data vs. price issue. If you spring for the Granite stuff, it works. If not, prepare to invest several hours debugging all the possible issues. Also, for important data, you're less likely to fubar a RAID set when your cabling is top notch. If you do fubar a RAID 0, its GONE.

Your three drives will exceed the maximum bandwidth of UW, so if speed is your concern, you do want a U160 card. I like ATTO much more than Adaptec.