PDA

View Full Version : ATTO Quickbench Useless?

ricks
10-06-2001, 02:07 PM
Supposition; ATTO SCSI bench in useless for testing performance in high speed arrays.

Anytime a drive or array of drives reaches the magical number of 8mb of total buffer ram on board the drives, ATTO bench will then only read bus to drive controller ram (buffer) speed. The drives can be inert during write tests and you'll still get max bus performance results up to the buffer size.

I am a beginner in the RAID field, but I have read everything I could and done a ton of testing,building & experimenting in the last couple of months. As my raids go up the ladder in grouped buffer size I watch the results shift from buffer speed to actual 'read/write to disc speed' with complete predictability. I see no way to test a volumn with a combined buffer of 8mb or more using ATTO bench unless the buffer can be turned off.

When I see a SCSI raid built with 4 cheetahs and a dual channel card with results way up to the 200 mb/s range that's pretty hot stuff. But all the results indicate is how fast the buffers are.

In my just posted ATA Hardware raid topic, I used drives with 2mb buffers, the results show a complete shift at 4 mb from the buffer related peak rate to the drive related sustained rate (from 120mb down to 70mb). If I replaced the drives with 4mb buffered drives, all other factors being the same, I would get virtually identical results sustained vs. peak using the 8mb Quickbench (it would stay in the 120mb/s range). Yet my actual performance would still be the same sustained rate gotten from the 4mb test.

I think were kidding ourselves using the ATTO ATTO bench as a way to show how great our arrays are performing.

Speed IS its own reward.
Rick

[This message has been edited by ricks (edited 08 October 2001).]

dragon_x
10-06-2001, 06:37 PM