PDA

View Full Version : RAID for Titanium G4



Dick Brillo
10-22-2001, 02:30 PM
Is it possible to have an external RAID for a Titanium G4?

If not what HD do you recommend. External? Or is the extra $400 for the 48GB worth it? I'm trying to buy the cheapest Titanium G4/DV cam now and upgrade later. Any recommendation would be helpful. Would like to make short movies using Studio Pro.

I want the laptop--no desktop... I know it's cheaper, but I want mobility.

Thanks

ChrisYip
10-22-2001, 03:26 PM
Well - you certainly could have one - they are pricey though - VST (or SmartDisk: http://www.smartdisk.com/) sells a Firewire RAID tower that has a built-in battery backup - which looks suspiciously like a spare Powerbook battery...
http://www.smartdisk.com/products_RAID.asp

I think that you could get a better deal on the drive if you go aftermarket than paying Apple for it (it is supposed to be a faster drive) but then what will you do with the one you have (aside from putting it into an external case)...

Chris

Dick Brillo
10-22-2001, 05:04 PM
Well, I would just go for a RAID later, rather than the 48GB harddrive. Probably buy the 30GB which I'm sure would work fine for me now.

So this RAID is firewire? I guess that's the only way to do it with the laptop? How does the speed compare to other RAID? Anyone?

ChrisYip
10-22-2001, 09:36 PM
Well - it's FireWire since that (and USB) would be the only built-in interfaces. In terms of transfer rates - you'd have to compare that against the LVD SCSI and you'd likely find that SCSI would be faster, esp since I don't think you can get an LVD PCMCIA card for your machine...

chatwood2
10-22-2001, 10:11 PM
You could get a MAGMA PCI expansion chassis. Their site is www.magma.com (http://www.magma.com) . They have 1 and 2 PCI chassis for powerbooks, and they work in the Titanium. Once you get the PCI chassis you would get a SCSI card to put in it, like an ATTO UL3S. To this would attach LVD SCSI hard drives, like Seagate X15s. The only problem is that you would loose portability. The MAGMA expansion chassis can run off a battery pack, but running SCSI hard drives off a battery is probably not a good idea.

- Chris

DHB
10-23-2001, 10:36 AM
Gee, Dick, you don't want much from a poor old laptop, do ya? http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Seriously, you might want to check the actual throughput for the Firewire port on the Ti P'book unless the bragging rights are of some use. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/cool.gif

I've seen some benchmarked reviews where the Firewire port's performance on a P'book (I don't recall if it was a Ti or not) was down around HALF http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/eek.gif of what a comparable desktop unit produced.

perhaps the Raid is just one item on your list of 'possibles' but...
Loading data from a miniDV camcorder doesn't take a lot of throughput (less than 5MB/sec sustained, 60min need about 12+Gig of disk space) BUT the Raid speed MAY be of benefit when rendering a QT Movie, for example.

From what I've seen (based on a G3/500 in a PT Pro) the CPU does the heaviest lifting by far...infrequent writes to disk compared to waiting on the cpu to do its thing.

However, if the G4 gives it a hell of a boost then a Raid with a significant, measurable performance increase (when compared to the internal or a single external FW drive) may well be worth the price of admission.


Me, I'd go for the bragging rights. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif

ChrisYip
10-23-2001, 02:42 PM
BareFeats had info on the FW on the 1st gen TiBooks.. Not sure if it's been fixed for the new ones that were just released - there was some info on improved Airport range etc...

Chris

ChrisYip
10-23-2001, 02:46 PM
Although not a truly portable option - have you thought about using those portable power pack modules that you can buy now - they are lead-acid with an inverter - lots of auto shops have them.

I just picked up a 300 W one - it has 2 110V outlets as well as a 12 VDC cigarette lighter socket and a high draw line for boosting your car. They're about the size of small coffee maker (I was going to say Mac SE) Costco up here in Canada had them for about $100

You could tote that along with your laptop and SCSI array on a dolly and be good to go for at least 4 hrs I suspect just on the lead-acid.. and then you could charge it in the car while you drive to your next shoot...

Just an idea...

Chris