PDA

View Full Version : G4 Dual800mhz RAID-0



FrozenTundra
08-02-2001, 11:29 AM
Hello,
I am about to configure 10 New Dual 800mhz G4's.WooHoo!
I would like the fastest raids on the planet in them.
I would like internal drives. Is there any reason not to use internal vs external.
Are there internal raid kits for the new G4's?
We will be running system 9.x initialy until Adobe releases Photoshop for OS X
Has anyone built a similar configuration?

Thanks,
Tim

dragon_x
08-02-2001, 09:11 PM
You will want to get

1) the ATTO U160 dual channel SCSI card.
2) the appropriate GRANITE cabling
3) Three x15 Cheetahs for internal use or if you need size get three 36GB (or bigger) 10K Cheetahs
4) SoftRAID
5) Setup one Cheetah as the boot
6) Set the others up in a RAID -0 (stripped) config

Barring any firmware quirks it should ROCK. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/rad.gif

These are new systems. The boards are fairly similar to the older boards. You could put one of the X15RAID drives on each channel of the U160 but with only two drives that should not be necessary. You might want to put the single Cheetah on its own channel. You can then add more drives externally as you wish. If you plan on running more than 4 (or 6) you probably want to go with GRANITE TWISTED pair. It can look like SPAGETTI, but twisted pair is the WAY to go for the utmost in signal quality. You should also be able to tie them with wire zip ties to make it neater and increase air flow.

You can run with 4 drives internally along the bottom bays, but this requires you to stack the back two drives up. The new Cheetahs runs cool when compaired to those old egg frying drives of years ago, but they still put out a fair amount of heat. No need to stress the system - IMO. Sounds like these are for work and your company is spending a TON, so they probably want them to run as long as possible (3 ~ 5 yrs) as main systems. I would take the stock IDE/ATA drives out and put them in FW converter boxes - probably the OXFORD911 - since even the Apple stock drives are capable of about 30MB/s. They can make for fast, quick, temporary backups and transfers - kinda blows away the old JAZZ disks.

SoftRAID is not supported in X yet, but I think it can work - YMMV. Since your boot Cheetah will only be a single drive I would format that with the Apple software.

I havent setup a RAID on new system, but I've dont a fair amount on the old vintage PCI macs. Hopefully we will get in some new QUICKSILVER PMacs and TiPBs next FY, but I doubt they will spring for the ultimate RAID. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/tinymacos.gif

Adobe needs to get their act together. Hopefully after 10.1 - we will see some real interest from the brickhouse. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

------------------
Life in the fast lane leads to:
The Resteraunt At The End Of The Universe

the_anarch
08-03-2001, 12:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Adobe needs to get their act together. Hopefully after 10.1 - we will see some real interest from the brickhouse.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Indeed, as far as I'm concerned, the introduction of Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and After Effects (and I guess Premiere and GoLive) are the last hold-ups on the biggest block of OSX adopters. It's the hold-up for me. As far as I'm concerned, Apple's hardware is finally right where it needs to be. Obviously it'd be nice if their clock speeds were matching Pentium 4s right now but I know they match or beat them in real speed, that's all that matters. Once the majority of Adobe users migrate to OSX, we'll start to see the OS mature with development just from the sheer mass of people using it.

FrozenTundra, you're configuring *TEN* of the Quicksilvers?

...I want to come work where you are.

Is that in Alaska, or Lambeau Field in Green Bay?

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

FrozenTundra
08-03-2001, 09:48 AM
Yes!! 10 QuickSilvers and another 10 Titataniums.
This advance has been along time coming, I am replacing 9500's with Micronet DataDocks and older legacy systems. I am also configuring a Prinergy file/print server with a Terabyte of Raid-5.

It seems like the ATTO U160 dual channel SCSI card with x15 36GB Cheetahs is the way to go. Will there be a huge system performance gain by replacing the boot drive with a Cheetah. I guess I was thinking of keeping the drives that ship with the Macs as system drives. I was planning on placing each of the Cheetahs on its own channel although I must admit I was considering putting in 2 73Gb Cheetahs except that these are only available as 10,000 rpm drives. Do you think there would be a real performance drop with these.

What type of performance do you think this configuration is capable of for real world Photoshop?

BTW, FrozenTundra is from the home of the 6x World Champion GreenBay Packers

Thanks for your help

dragon_x
08-03-2001, 08:47 PM
I'm fairly sure that you can only get the 15K Cheetahs in an 18GB size. I hear rumors that a 36GB is coming out... maybe I missed something?

I would think that the stock Apple drives would do well as boot drives, but I wouldnt put more than 3 drives in there. Also there may be issues when installed DIMMs in all three slots. Check the memory threads - I posted something from XLR8yourmac. Maybe it is an isolated incident or maybe the vendors havent had time to test & spec their memory cards.

I hope you get as long a life out of these systems as you did the 9500s...

------------------
Life in the fast lane leads to:
The Resteraunt At The End Of The Universe

Ketone
08-04-2001, 02:01 AM
dragon_x
36gig 15k Cheetah's have been on Seagate's page for a while now.
They are available here in Australia.

Ketone

Ketone
08-04-2001, 02:03 AM
Forgot to mention.

Quicksilvers can have only a max of 3 drives internally.

Ketone

FrozenTundra
08-06-2001, 09:42 AM
I am going to bring in one Quicksilver so that I can build and test the configuration. It is critical that I nail this system upgrade. I may not get another chance at upgrades for a while.

dragon_x
08-06-2001, 11:16 PM
What do you know? I did not check the Seagate website.

Well since Gurus did not have them I assumed they did not exist - or maybe they are not shipping in volume? I would not be suprised since many companies announce things only to make you wait an extra few weeks http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif Of course Seagate has a good rep, but who knows? They are the ONLY company I know of that has hit the 15K mark and the 180GB mark.

So the question would be if Seagate is shipping the 15K 36GB drives in volume - why are the Gurus selling them?
http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/confused.gif

Quicksilvers can have only a max of 3 drives internally.
So they took off the back double stack bracket? Not that I would put more than 3 Cheetahs in a Sawtooth style case but... and your in double jepardy if you stack Cheetahs like that anyway. I bet you could sqeeze one up over the DVD bay though - or maybe in the ZIP bay if that is empty.

Frozen,

GL and may the force be with you!

kaye
08-07-2001, 01:17 AM
Go here http://www.seagate.com/cda/products/discsales/guide/ and you will see that the ST336752LW Cheetah X15 36LP 36.7 GB?Ultra160 SCSI?15K?rpm 3.7 ms avg?low-profile $699.00 is now SRP priced and I believe magician was at a Seagate meeting for advance ordering. I believe the priced drives are just coming to market here.

Note that the ST336732LW Cheetah X15 36LP 36.7 GB Ultra320 SCSI? 15K?rpm 3.7 ms avg low-profile is not priced yet and is probably going to be available after the ST336752LW.

Both of these drives have an 8MB buffer. k

FrozenTundra
08-07-2001, 09:05 AM
What is the difference between the following 2 drives? If they are both 15k speed and the same seek time what makes one Ultra160 and the other Ultra320?

ST336752LW Cheetah X15 36LP 36.7 GB?Ultra160 SCSI?15K?rpm


ST336732LW Cheetah X15 36LP 36.7 GB Ultra320 SCSI? 15K?rpm

kaye
08-07-2001, 11:42 AM
FT,

I will have to defer to someone else on that question. My wild guess would be the hardware on the drive's logic board and firmware would spec one at U160 and the other at U320. Even the ATTO UL3D is a U160 card, but with dual channels is capable combined data transfer rates of 320 MB/Sec. Whether you would see a performance increase with multiple U320 drives in striped RAID across dual channels, I don't know. But I suspect not, since the card itself on each channel is U160.

Someone else would have to provide a more accurate answer. I have a QuickSilver DP G4-800 on order and will be testing my Burly 6x X15 (U160) striped RAID with a UL3D. I know that magician has some test results on the ftp site with an 8x X15 and UL3D in a Sawtooth. Look in the benchmarks_archive. BTW, magician is very conservative in how he sets up so that his benchmarks are conservative. He wants you to exceed his scores. k

[This message has been edited by kaye (edited 07 August 2001).]

dragon_x
08-07-2001, 09:02 PM
That is really weird. Since Ultra160 is not really a standard I have no idea what Ultra320 is. Ultra160 is a subset of the Ultra3 spec - from what I remember. The speed should be about the same between Ultra3 & Ultra160 - ultra160 simply does not implement all the features (3 out of 5 I think) of the Ultra3 spec.

I could only guess that Ultra320 may be a subset of an 'Ultra4 spec', but I did not find this on the Seagate site. On their main page they have an option for drive interfaces - it only goes up to Ultra160. Me confused http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/eek.gif

This also brings up another question - what is the diff between
ST318452LC? ?Cheetah X15 36LP? ?18.4 GB? ?Ultra160 SCSI? ?15K?RPM? ?3.7 ms avg? ?HPS&W ?? $419.00
ST318452LW? ?Cheetah X15 36LP? ?18.4 GB? ?Ultra160 SCSI? ?15K?RPM? ?3.6 ms avg? ?HPS&W ?? $419.00
ST336752LC? ?Cheetah X15 36LP? ?36.7 GB? ?Ultra160 SCSI? ?15K?RPM? ?3.7 ms avg? ?HPS&W ?? $699.00
ST336752LW? ?Cheetah X15 36LP? ?36.7 GB? ?Ultra160 SCSI? ?15K?RPM? ?3.7 ms avg? ?HPS&W ?? $699.00

That is what is the diff between LC & LW?
They also have other strange letters like LCV and LWV... whats up with that?


They also have a very weird rounding scheme at their site.

Bet that G4/800MHzDP will be http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/kickass.gif & http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/phat.gif - so I gotta http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/dance.gif

FrozenTundra
08-09-2001, 09:36 AM
I will try to get a clarification on the 160 vs 320 thing from Seagate. While I am at it maybe someone can enlighten me on the difference between dives that appear to be the same except for LC an LW designations. These may not be important issues but its the kind of stuff that makes you sit back and hmmmmm?

kaye
08-09-2001, 11:11 AM
Interface

DC = Differential, 80-pin Single Connector Attachment (SCA)
FC = Fibre Channel, 40-pin SCA
FCV = Same as FC, but with an increased cache size (Recommended for Video applications and applications with large file formats)
LC = Low Voltage Differential, 80-pin SCA
LCV = Same as LC, but with an increased cache size (Recommended for Video applications and applications with large file formats)
LW = Low Voltage Differential, 68-pin Wide SCSI Connector
LWV = Same as LW, but with an increased cache size (Recommended for Video applications and applications with large file formats)
N? = SCSI, 50-pin Narrow SCSI Connector
ND = Differential, 50-pin Narrow SCSI Connector
W? = SCSI, 68-pin Wide SCSI Connector
WC = SCSI, 80-pin SCA (Hot Swappable)
WD = Differential, 68-pin Wide SCSI Connector

Seen here http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/disc/discmodelinter.html

kaye
08-09-2001, 11:18 AM
Also more info on the new U320 drives here http://www.seagate.com/cda/newsinfo/newsroom/releases/article/0,1247,1024,00.html k

dragon_x
08-09-2001, 08:10 PM
Thanks

K!

dragon_x
08-09-2001, 11:30 PM
Seagate was not all that specific about U320, except for the tidbit on 3D defense stuff. I do think that the U160/320 designation is the smartest one since it quickly and effectively tells you what the bandwidth is. IDE was ATA/3, then it became ATA/33, 66, 100 and soon - 133 and IDE is creeping up on SCSI - even for what the pro needs.

Their letter designation are fairly bizzare.
L should be short for LVD so then an LVD SCA drive should be
LS or LSCA - but Seagate is putting letters for acronyms - this is worse than the NAVY http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/eek.gif

ND - so is this a 50pin LVD (differential) drive or is it HVD?

DC - I think this should read HVDSCA - not really to many letters.
C = SCA = Single Connector Attachment, never knew that.

That is pretty Phreak. I guess someone speced about every SCSI possibility so we have all these crazy abbreviations. It seems they are fairly inefficient, but I guess that is why those engineers get paid the big bucks - to confuse us
http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/confused.gif http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

FrozenTundra
08-21-2001, 04:38 PM
Kaye and Dragon_X

Thanks for all the info.

My vendor is concerned about the heat generated by the

ST336752LW? Cheetah X15 36LP?36.7 GB ?Ultra160 3.7 ms avg? ?HPS&W ?? $699.00

Do you know what kind of heat these things generate?

Thanks,
FrozenTundra

FrozenTundra
08-21-2001, 04:43 PM
Why am I listed as a Junior Member?

Do I need to go through some sort of hazing ritual to achieve Member status?

Just wondering?

kaye
08-21-2001, 06:50 PM
You get a downgrade to Member when we solve your questions. Seriously, it goes by number of posts, something like 25. It just helps us identify those who are new to our forums, not a reference to knowledge or experience.

There is a review here with info on the Conclusions page on how hot http://www.storagereview.com/articles/200107/20010719ST336752LW_1.html and the answer is yes, it gets hot, unlike the generation one X15. So you will want to cool it. k

[This message has been edited by kaye (edited 21 August 2001).]

magician
08-24-2001, 05:53 PM
this thread might qualify as hazing.

as i understand it, Ultra320 implements portions of the "official" Ultra3 spec, which is a clarified in a sub-paragraph of the voluminous SCSI-3 spec.

Ultra320, i suspect, may not be a formal spec at all, but merely a subset of the actual spec, like Ultra160 (which has always been formally understood as an "initiative" championed by Adaptec. )

the UL3D is a full Ultra3 card. Whether this means it can exploit a so-called Ultra320 drive like these new Cheetahs remains to be seen--both theoretically and in practice.

we're working on it as i speak.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

FrozenTundra
08-27-2001, 01:49 PM
Regarding "this thread might qualify as hazing."

All I can say is "Thankyou Sir may I have another"

Who manufactures the UL3D?

FrozenTundra

dragon_x
08-27-2001, 06:05 PM
That would be ATTO - much better than Adaptec - from everything I've read.

Just remember to NEVER give up! They never gave up when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor! http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/tongue.gif So there!

magician
08-28-2001, 12:06 AM
we sell them on the main site. And talk about them voluminously.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

sauria
09-03-2001, 09:21 PM
3 drives only in Quicksilver?


Is this true for sure?? I thought there were places for 4 drives but not enough power supply connectors?

kaye
09-04-2001, 01:46 AM
s,

Actually there are four spaces for drives. The bay on the right will hold two drives, one on top of the existing ATA drive, the center bay holds one drive, the left bay holds one drive. And yes, connectors are in short supply. There are two available, not counting the one attached to the ATA drive.

Proline offers a couple of two drive brackets, one with fans, for the QS here http://store.yahoo.com/buyproline/quicg4par.html and good quality Y power extension cables. k

ricks
09-04-2001, 01:47 AM
3 Drives in a Quicksilver?

I have one, and it has mounting in place for 4 drives. It does only have 3 power connections, but multiple connection adapters are cheap and easily found.

I would think if you didn't order with a zip drive that a fifth mount could be made to fit the zip bracket hanging under the CD-rom. Look out for heat though, too many cheetahs or other 'HOT' drives would go a long ways towards reducing the warranty period. (maybe to nothing)

The drive mounts are three across on the bottom of the Quicksilvers with a stackable forth drive mount on top of the stock drive. I am not sure anyone would recommend stacking Cheetahs. I am not sure whether you would need extra fans with even three across Cheetahs, let alone filling the case with four.

Speed is it's own reward.
Rick

TZ
09-04-2001, 07:39 AM
Sounds like it might be safe to have an IDE drive on the bottom of the 2-drive bracket on the right, and a SCSI drive above it. I'd like to be able to put two drives in that bracket, even if not two SCSI drives. Sure would be a lot easier if there was room for stacking 4 Cheetahs, one above the other, than trying to lay cable across the bottom. In light use I do, the drives don't get hot.

I had one Granite cable for 3 drives fail after 3-4 months. I've changed drive configurations a lot trying to get what I want.

The 2G X15 is cooler than I expected. Noisy with a loud "click" or "tick" from time to time. Maybe I'll have to pull them out (yet again) and make sure everything is snug but not too tight. Can't figure what triggers the noise.

I wish someone would design a G4 case to accept four drives, 2 x 2 stacked, not flat.
Gregory

[This message has been edited by Gregory (edited 04 September 2001).]

dragon_x
09-04-2001, 02:19 PM
I wish someone would design a G4 case to accept four drives, 2 x 2 stacked, not flat.

Its better to have the drives flat than to stack them - of course with proper cooling stacking should not be an issue - even for really hot drives. The main problem - that the Gurus point out - is that even if its not all that hot for the drive - the circuit board underneath is more succeptable to the heat. The drive itself could be fine, but what good is that without the circuit board? http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

You can stack one or maybe two drives over the DVD/Combo drive - to ensure there are no heat issues. Of course this could make cabling trickey. I think Granite Twisted pair is best - since you can bundle it up - you could probably even get Kenny to do this for you - and he can customize the lengths from 8 to 12". If you have ever seen a Daystar case - you will see great drive engineering - I think you can stack drives about 5 high with PLENTY of COOLING! http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif The PTPro and 86/9600 cases are close runners up. One of the great features of the 86/9600 was the massive 390W powersupply. I think this is the biggested ever in a Mac bootable system - at least that I know of.

Another location would be were the ZIP drive normally goes. This would probably be the easiest non standard location - assuming you do not have a drive there already.

I'm not sure I would want to put 4 x15 G2s in a Sawtooth case... if you have a full set of PCI/AGP card, RAM, Firewire drive- that powersupply might be stressin http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/eek.gif

------------------
Life in the fast lane leads to:
The Resteraunt At The End Of The Universe

sauria
09-04-2001, 06:33 PM
Proline offers a couple of two drive brackets...

Thanks, In Quicksilver that long backing plate is gone so that high drives can be accomodated. Could you put two of the dual drive brackets in those single drive bracket locations now and run 6 drives!?? http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I also think the DP/800 now has a 360W power supply -- can anyone verify this?

[This message has been edited by sauria (edited 04 September 2001).]

kaye
09-04-2001, 09:34 PM
My 800DP has a 344W power supply. Going to order some of those Proline bay brackets and see how they work. k

sauria
09-04-2001, 10:17 PM
My 800DP has a 344W power supply. Going to order some of those Proline bay brackets and see how they work. k

Hmm, I think I saw the 360W figure on Apple's G4 Tech page. http://www.apple.com/powermac/specs.html
Under "Maximum Continuous Power"

I look forward to hearing how the dual brackets work!



[This message has been edited by sauria (edited 04 September 2001).]

dragon_x
09-05-2001, 12:18 AM
Yep - but it looks like its ALL the new G4 towers! http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

from the link below-
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Electrical requirements and agency approvals
Line voltage: 115V AC (90V to 132V AC) or 230V AC (180V to 264V AC)
Frequency: 47 to 63 Hz, single phase
Maximum continuous power: 360W
Meets ENERGY STAR requirements<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well, it does have 5 slots - the GF-3 being one option (30W?) and up to 6 or more drives plus a dual CPU config with 4MB L3 cache -so...
http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

kaye
09-05-2001, 12:34 PM
Well my power supply says 344 watts. Must be revision 2. k

TZ
09-05-2001, 06:34 PM
Would it be safe to put an IDE drive under a X15 in that dual drive bracket? There really isn't a lot of space and now I see why flat has its advantage. Especially with the exposed parts on the bottom. IDE (60GXP) are low heat, and actually go into sleep mode most of the time.

I've been having trouble with drives going to sleep and then got a freeze on waking up plus some other trouble that I can't locate the source for (posted in long message on SCSI forum). I'me stumped.

Gregory

sauria
09-05-2001, 07:43 PM
Let me know if 6 fit with the case closed kaye??
Could be fun http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks!

kaye
09-06-2001, 01:36 AM
Gregory,

I don't know. Apple supplies the right side bracket for another drive above the shipping drive, presumably another ATA because there is another ATA connector right there. But it looks like it would be a very close fit with little room between the drives.

sauria,

I ordered two of the plain brackets and one with fans ($80+, what's with that?) in order to see what can be done with the center and left bays. Will post the results. k

sauria
09-06-2001, 07:38 PM
Thanks K -- ouch on the $!

FrozenTundra
09-07-2001, 11:53 AM
kaye,

I would love to hear how your brackets workout. I am looking to only put in 2 of the x15 cheetahs, but I have been concerned about the heat. I really don't want to cook anything.

So is there any chance that the GURUS would build and sell me the Dual 800mhz SilverBullets. Hey I have to buy them from someone. You guys have been a tremendous resource and I would be happy to give you the business. I am looking to buy configured machines as opposed to buying machines and going through the whole integration thing.

Let me know,
FrozenTundra

magician
09-07-2001, 12:13 PM
you typically want to trust Apple where drives are concerned, with two IDE drives stacked in bay 3 and two LVD drives side by side in bays one and two, counting from front to rear.

if you pull the stock IDE drive in bay 3, you can replace it w a third Cheetah. I would not stack a fourth Cheetah atop one in the top level of bay 3.

the max config that i would endorse is three Cheetahs, all side by side, or two Cheetahs and two IDE drives. Considering that we're now shipping killer ATA100 Seagate 7200 rpm IDE drives in 80GB capacities, it's hard not to plan for a pair in bay 3, and a pair of X15 36GB U320's in bays one and two. This would be an optimal config for Photoshop or AfterEffects work.

kaye
09-07-2001, 10:05 PM
Received the brackets from Proline. The Proline two drive brackets are exactly the same as the Apple two drive bracket in bay 3 (right side). Very tight fit between stacked drives, perhaps an 1/8". No way I would stack two drives, the hot smooth side (which dissipates the heat) of the lower drive would cook the logic board of the upper drive. The Proline fanned two drive bracket is the same tight fit. So I'm with magician about how many drives to install, one ATA and two Cheetahs.

I am going to use these brackets, one plain, one fanned to get the two X15s up off of the floor by using the upper bracket position. But two drives in one of these brackets would leave me very uncomfortable. k

sauria
09-08-2001, 08:57 AM
Thanks Kaye -- doesn't the floor act as a heat sink?

You wouldn't even stack ATA drives?

TZ
09-08-2001, 12:04 PM
Seems like two ATA - just not two Cheetahs. And nix on stacking Cheetahs anywhere.

I ordered a couple of the brackets when I saw the link. one reason was the far left bay is a tight fit to get the cable to fit properly, just too tight for my likings. Having the air flow underneath and route the cable or terminator on the underside if I can. Not having anything in the last PCI slot (B&w) might help close the lid.

BUT they really can't be used in the other two bays on the Yosemite to any benefit. Too tight. The power cord in the middle. Won't even fit or work in the left most position. A 1/4" here, a 1/2" there - why Apple "keeps improving" on their defects (rev A or rev 1's: IDE chips, support for 2nd ATA drive, or this tight fit).

Gregory

[This message has been edited by Gregory (edited 08 September 2001).]

kaye
09-08-2001, 09:34 PM
I agree with Gregory about maximum two Cheetahs, one in the left and one in the center bays, but since I have the 80GB 7200rpm drive, I'm not stacking another ATA drive so close on top. And the routing of cables and power connectors must be carefully done so as not to pinch anything when closing the door. Take a good look with the door nearly closed to be sure the cables clear. k

sauria
09-15-2001, 08:16 PM
k -- does that fanned bracket offer significant airflow and is it taller than the apple stock bracket?

kaye
09-16-2001, 07:00 PM
"k -- does that fanned bracket offer significant airflow and is it taller than the apple stock bracket?"

I gave up on the fanned bracket because I found a better plan. Stock drive brackets in bays 2 & 3 (center and right, with the right one being a two drive bracket). These two bays have an X15 and the factory ATA 80GB. I replaced the bay 1 (left side) bracket with the Proline two-drive bracket (the one without fans) and put the other X15 in the bottom bay of this bracket. I then attached an 80mm fan to the front right side screw hole in this bracket (one of the screw holes for mounting a drive in the upper bay) with the fan sucking air off of the X15 to its left and blowing toward the X15 and ATA drive to its right. Works good. k

Taffy.C
09-16-2001, 08:00 PM
Hi k,
Can you clarify - are there 2 drives in bay 1? Can you recommend a part number for the 80mm fan?

Thanks ... taffy.c

kaye
09-17-2001, 01:18 PM
taffy.c,

One drive in bay 1, X15, installed into the lower bay of the basic Proline 2-drive bracket, which is just like the Apple 2-drive bracket in bay 3. This leaves the upper bay and screw holes of the Proline bracket open to screw the 80mm fan to the hole closest to the door hinge (front of the bracket). Optionally you can drill another hole in the bracket for screwing in both of the ends of the fan. So the fan is over the right edge of bay 1 and points toward bays 2 and 3.

I purchased the High Speed version of the Sunon fan here http://www.power-on.com/power-on/sunon4pin80mm.html and have it sucking air from the left (from the top of the X15 in bay one) and blowing towards bays 2 and 3. k

sauria
09-25-2001, 05:47 PM
Thanks Kaye. Good to hear you have a solution. So the proline fans are low cfm?
Is your replecement fan noisy?

kaye
09-25-2001, 09:04 PM
The fans on the Proline bracket are small and only blow across the drive in the bracket. I wanted something to suck/blow across all three bays. The Sunon 80mm fan I chose is their hi-output model. I can't hear it inside the case which, as you know, is very tight. So I opened up the case and peeked inside. It's running. YMMV since I may be going deaf. k