PDA

View Full Version : Firewire RAID???



Santilli
07-12-2001, 06:26 AM
Hi Magician

I was wondering if you had used any GD stuff to setup a firewire raid?

Wonder how this would work for stuff like Final Cut Pro, where you need large storage capacity?
How do the low block transfer rates compare with scsi and ide(since you use ide drives, I imagine the rates are similar)

The hotswap adapters Granite has put out look pretty cool. A mini-backplane..


gs

buddy weston
08-02-2001, 01:38 PM
http://www.barefeats.com/fire15.html

crazyeights
08-15-2001, 12:20 AM
Damn, I'd love to know the answer to this one too.....

That looks pretty cool.....

c8

magician
08-15-2001, 02:51 PM
not quite yet ready for prime-time, but getting there. Considering that it took this long for FW to finally get usable, I am optimistic that we will be able to get behind a solution shortly, and open yet another new section of the site: The FireWire Pages of Pain.

I kid you not.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

crazyeights
08-15-2001, 07:43 PM
Hubba hubba http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

westfoto
08-21-2001, 01:41 PM
What would the benefits be to have a firewire RAID instead of a SCSI one? I am new to the idea but need to have a faster access to my Photoshop files and I do not want to see that progress bar any more. Is it worth putting the SCSI card in the G4. I have a G4 533 DP. Please advise, thanks.

Santilli
08-21-2001, 06:12 PM
Firewire is hotswapable. And, it uses cheap ide drives, great if you are intrested in storing lots of stuff, like music or video.

It's just an alternative to ide, far better then ide raid solutions, not in the ball park if you are used to scsi.

Plus, it used to crawl. UW specs are pretty quick, more then ide is usually capable of, and, perhaps, the interface is superior to ide???

gs

magician
08-23-2001, 02:08 PM
the only benefit to FireWire RAID is hot-swap, and ease of use.

it is not fast--and at this point, only CharisMac RAID, FWB HDT, and possibly HDST (w two drives only?) supports it. It is not yet supported by SoftRAID (unless you buy VST FireRAID).

i do not consider FireWire RAID viable from the software standpoint at this time. Hardware is very nearly there. Software is lagging at this time.

ChrisYip
08-29-2001, 07:57 AM
I have a question.... although expensive, you can purchase these IDE -> SCSI hardware raid set ups (or SCSI-SCSI) set ups from RAIDWEB. These set up as LVD systems to your own machine and allow you to set up various raid configurations (0 - 1, 5 ) etc...You can either use IDE or SCSI (depending on the configuration) drives

(http://www.raidweb.com)

Has anyone tried these out on a Mac? I have colleagues who have several of these units but they are hooked up to Linux boxes.

We need some serious expandable network accessible storage now - we just installed a new microscope where each single image file can range from 50 - 100 MB and I could see people racking up 10 - 100's of images in a given day...

Chris