PDA

View Full Version : RAID and Quark Xpress

dfish
06-21-2001, 07:54 AM
We just added a 150 gb JES Solutions RAID Server running Mikrotest File Zerver software to our Mac network running 9.04. Our workflow requires we work on files over the network on the RAID. Quark files get a "file is locked" error message and changes cannot be saved. We use other hard drives on the network in the same manner and never had this problem. We don't get this error on any other application (Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver) Is there a solution? Firmware has been upgraded to 3.0. Quark Tech support tells me that Quark was not built to run over a network ( although I have never had this problem until the RAID) and I should consider myself lucky ! Help! (and thanks)
David

dragon_x
06-21-2001, 08:31 AM
Quark files get a "file is locked" error message and changes cannot be saved.
I'm no expert, but I've heard that some of their software will LOCK the file - IF someone else is using it. So its possible that someone else has the file open and does not know this. Its also possible that the Quark software (express I guess) 'thinks' the file is open by someone else. Are you using QPS or something?

How is the RAID connected to the network?
What did you use before the RAID?

The lock feature is supposed to protect the file and software from confusion, so only one person can work on it at at time.

tm311
06-21-2001, 05:06 PM
Quark works just fine over a network, and with raid as well....check your file sharing properties and see how they are set up. Are you running 4.1?

dfish
06-22-2001, 07:21 AM
File Sharing is off. Program linking is on. I am running 4.11