PDA

View Full Version : RAID Advice

Rampant
05-27-2001, 05:14 PM
This being my first RAID, im looking for scalability as well as speed, but I have a budget too.

My idea was to get the ATTO UL3S and a pair of Cheetas, stuffed into a Burly Quad bay, for a simple striped array to get wicked performance out of my BeigeG3 300, and later a G4 Sawtooth in about 6 months or so.

But then I was thinking maybe I could get a nice bonus in performance if I spend alittle more on the ATTO UL3D and duplexed the two drives, one per channel, with the intention of filling the box in with 2 more Cheetas in the following year.

Does any of this sound feasable? Perhaps there's a better option I haven't thought of?

Im also debating wether I should go with 10K ST318405LW Cheetas or the 15K ST318451LW. The 15K's look pretty slick, but the 10K's look similar, and cost allot less, seek time aside.

Again, I'm new to higher-end SCSI, and would love some feedback.

MacMikester
05-27-2001, 09:45 PM
If you want to do RAID right, and you can afford it, The ATTO UL3D and two Cheetah X15's are the way to go. On a single channel, one X15 gives you approx. the same throughput as two striped 10 K Cheetahs. There's more than just a 50% difference in rotational speed between these drive generations. You will also notice another performance jump with this rig when you migrate it to the faster system bus and Newer PCI controller on the G4 machines. You can't do any better at this time. I own a UL3D with two 10K's on it and a Miles2 with two X15's on it. Seems like it should be the other way around but I need them as they are.

Regards

magician
05-28-2001, 01:38 AM